Lancer Register Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As im only 18 im not going to be able to afford an Evo for many years so im the meantime i have decided to possibly buy a pug 205 GTI (any other suggestions) solely for track use. the reason for track use only is because i wont be able to afford the insurance either (im a student cut me some slack :D:D) how much is track day insurance by the way?, what do you lot reckon to the idea, anyone done this. i know its not an evo but i thought you lot might be the best to ask. one other question is about places to use it, i live in nottingham and wont be able to go to track days all the time cuz im not rich, so does anyone know of any abandoned runways etc in the east midlands that you could use something like this, thx in advance any advise is much appreciated, its all andy fox's fault he took me out in his car and got me addicted to speed............thx andy :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

lewis.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Lewis,
in the same boat as you mate nearly 18 and hopin 2 do trackdays next year.havin bin out in SteveC's 205 GTI at snetterton(which is slightly modded) even though he lost out on the straights it was great fun in the corners(despite the terrible rain and cut slicks).
not really sure about the abilty of other alternatives but i knw that astra GTE's r also quite popular as track cars.I havent got a hope of insuring anything decent for a good few years yet so im thinkin of doin the same as u and driving somethin sedate on the road(noway im gettin a micra though :) ) and doin trackdays in my dads 4x4 cossie. if your using it jus 4 trackday's strip out anythin dat dnt need 2 be there maybe look at running uprated brakes(decent combo of disks and pads shudnt set u bak 2 much on sometin like a pug 205) do some cheap performance mods and have yourself some serious fun.
Hope 2 see you at trackday,

Umreet