Lancer Register Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I'm new to all of this, so forgive me if anything seems a bit naiive.

I recently asked a guy who works for a well known Japanese tuning company about doing some subtle tuning of my 5. This guy has a lot of Group N and WRC Mitsi experience, so should know his stuff.

He told me that the ECU is non-programmable (as I've seen from recent Power Eng threads), however a quick way of getting more horse is to increase boost. He said that the standard car is conservatively blown (around 1 bar) and that running 1.5ish will present no problems for the rest of the engine. Great, so what next?

His reply was that a simple mod can be made to the boost solenoid (I think), the one with two small side-by-side hose ports. Inside one of the ports there is a small restrictor. Remove this, and you'll be running about 1.5 bar. You can also kiss goodbye to whatever paltry fuel economy that you managed before.

He did qualify all of this by saying that this isn't the proper way of doing things, but an extra ?0BHP for no pounds is fairly good value for money. My questions are :

1) Is this true?
2) If so, will it shaft my engine?

Thanks in advance for any comments.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Dogger,if you remove the restrictor you should achieve 1.3bar it you have done the exhaust and induction.If you are running the stadard ECU however you will experience fuel cuts not good for the engine or your back.