Lancer Register Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just got my first lancer after selling the impreza wrx..Now I'm not use to the engine noise .It sounds a bit tappety,Do they all sound like this.Its a Evo 4 with 50000 miles on the clock.Its been on fully synthetic oil since its birth,could the thinner oil be the reason?? I'm new to owning a Lancer evolution (got it on Sunday) so could anybody give me some pointers on Oil,Servicing Intervals etcetc...
Please Help

G

·
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Delboy,

Don't worry, most of them sound tappety. There have been a few threads on how to stop this - seem like using the best oil you can will help eg Castrol RS 10W/60 or Mobil 1 15W/50, but no guaranteed cures. Don't use the really thin stuff like 0W/40, apparently its too thin for turbo engines.

Service wise, not sure about the IV but probably every 4,500 like V's and VI's.

Steve.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks Steve.
I use to run the Impreza on mobil 1 motorsport 15w 50 .I'll probably start using that in my new motor.
Thanks for the advice..

G

·
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
try using octane booster to clean combustion chambers valve seats and injectors. combats pinking and pre-ignition reduces carburettor icing. try millers or silkolene pro boost.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Tappet noise is normal at start up but if it does not go fairly quickly then you may have a common problem with the lash adjusters in the hydraulic tappet.
I looked into the tappet noise problem after I thought that I had a valve go or tappet collapse on my engine only to find it to be more serious and completely different problem.