Lancer Register Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
217 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Understand there is a lot of work involved- a lot of business's fail so fast within the first year.

Id love to do it but really dont know where to start. Any one tried, failed etc. Got any tips on do's and don'ts.

Not even sure in what sector to look at, obviousley it needs to be a niche market.

Im sick of making money for other people and getting paid bugger all for it.

·
Registered
217 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I'm a litigation officer, cant really set up on my own in this sort of sector- not a qualified practicing solicitor.

probably just a pipe dream, typical monday thing i suppose

·
Registered
11,287 Posts
Starting your own biz is really a piece of ****

It just takes a bit of risk taking and a leap of faith / knowledge in yourself that you wont let it fail.

Its easy for me to say this, after having done it a couple of times - but it REALLY isnt that difficult.

·
Registered
217 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Did you write a business plan, where did you get funding to begin with. How did you convince others your idea would work

·
Registered
11,287 Posts
gprim said:
Did you write a business plan, where did you get funding to begin with. How did you convince others your idea would work
Business Plan was in my head, but yes, I had to document something for Banks etc to see that we were serious.

We used a VC first time around (Venture Capitalist), then quickly bought him out before it became to expensive to do so - then the businesses generated income to start subsequent one's from there.

You can easily start a business for around £100k, even less if its a back bedroom set up to start off with.

Convincing others was easy, as we had a good track record in the industry we are in, therefore held a lot of goodwill in ourselves, not necessarily employer dependent.

Starting a business from scratch in a completely new sector would be a lot more challenging though.