Lancer Register Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everybody,

I'm a newbie in this forum. I'm planing to buy a EVO 4 therefore I have a couple of things want to clarify to make sure that I'm buying the right car !! I'm buying it just for normal on road use, not going to run it on the track.

1. Is EVO 4 a robust car ?? How likely is it going to have mechanical problem, like problems in gearbox, turbo, clutch ... etc. Is it costly to maintain it in good
condition?? I've heard people saying that part's for EVOs are very expensive !!

2. Could you be able to give me a rough idea on the maintainance cost per year for a EVO (probably in terms of US dollar).

3. I heard people saying that the AYC in EVO 4 breaks down quite easily and many people just change it back to a normal LSD, is that true ??

4. Continue with the above question, if I buy EVO 4, is it necessary to change the AYC back to LSD ??

5. Anything I need to pay attention to, when I look for a EVO 4 ??

I would be very happy if you could auswer my question above !! http://www.lancerregister.com/graphics/laugh1.gif border|EQU| 0 align|EQU| absmiddle >

Regards

Mystery

G

·
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
I'm not speaking from experience as I have an Evo 1 not 4, but even if the AYC is a weak point on the car I'm sure that it would be fine for road use. As for the car's robustness I think that all Evos are pretty well off in that department unless they have spent their life being thrashed and not looked after so I think that a service history is a must.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #3 ·