Lancer Register Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm relatively new to the Evo having only owned one a couple of months now and have read about some people using Octane booster additives on some forums.

As a complete eejit when it comes to things like this I thought I'd ask what everyone thought of them?

So, what EXACTLY do they do?
How does it improve the car (both in performance and maintenance)?
What is the best booster to use?
How is it best applied? Added? Whatever!
Where do you get some?
How much is it typically and how often does it last?

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks guys

Davy T

G

·
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
The engine control unit on the EVO which controls the fueling ,ignition and to some degree the boost, is mapped or programmed for the engine to run on 100 octane fuel which is what is used in Japan. Most super unleaded petrol available in this country is 97 octane, recently Shell have started selling Optimax which is 98 octane, which means the octane rating is 2-3 points lower than the ECU is designed to run. This means the engine is more likely to detonate, (Pre-ignition, knock or pinking) which is an uncontrolled explosion of the fuel/air mixture in the combustion chamber instead of normal combustion at ignition. The worst case senario of this would be a holed piston. The engine has a knock sensor on it and if it detects detonation the ECU will try to stop it by retarding the ignition timing at that time, which will also reduce the power output.

Octane booster additive boosts the octane rating of the fuel when mixed with it. There are many different octane boosters on the market, I will use 'Millers octane plus' as an example. One bottle costs around £3.00 for 250ml, this treats 50 litres of fuel (one tankfull) and boosts the octane rating by approx 2 points, so 98 ron would be boosted to 100 ron.