Lancer Register Forum banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
We've started on Evo X's now, Sam is just back from doing some in Belguim.

This engine seems to respond really well to tuning.

Mods were only a Miltek exhaust and an HKS air filter.

·
Premium Member
1,936 Posts
416bhp is impressive with just an exhaust, filter and map. What would you have to do to get the torque from 360lbs/ft nearer 400 lbs/ft? Further mods or fine tune the map?

sorry i'm a novice here :eek:

·
Registered
3,216 Posts
A figure of 416bhp is very impressive,however why is the torque so low? 360lbft is pretty poor for a car producing 416bhp.When my X was first mapped the torque figure was higher than the bhp.;)

·
Registered
552 Posts
Running higher boost pressure is the obvious way that most engines make more torque.

In this case, the exhaust and air filter appear to be letting the engine hang onto moderate boost pressure at high rpm giving decent torque figures above 6000rpm and hence a power figure in hp that is higher than the torque figure in lb ft. Note how the torque curve is nearly flat between 5500-6500rpm, rather than continuing to decline as it does between 4500-5500rpm.

Power is just torque x rpm. Using hp and lb-ft units, the numbers are the same at 5250 rpm. So according to the dyno figures, this engine is still making 318lb-ft of torque at max power rpm of 6874rpm.

It would be interesting to see a dyno graph for before the exhaust and air filter were fitted.

Rob

·
Registered
2,443 Posts
The dyno in the first post has only four data points shown and the graph looks to be a best fit. You can't really imply anything about the spool between 2750 and 3750 RPM because there aren't any data points! Sam (Elassar) doesn't usually let a turbo spool lazily as shown, but often has a nice overboost to give early and high torque. This graph doesn't really let you judge the engine at all.

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·