Lancer Register Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Tarmac Tyre Shredder
14,559 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,my car has been set to run 1.3/1.4 bar,by power engineering,way before i bought it.330 bhp 321 torque graphs

I took the car off the road for 6 months from july to jan.......in that time i fitted a cold air feed to the filter.

Got in my car the other day for the 1st time in ages,and the s.p.a digital gauges are showing a peak boost of 1.87 bar!!!!!!!! :eek: after a few drives.

The peak used to be 1.5 or 25 psi (ish) i think,up to july.

The car feels a bit quicker,probably because of the cold weather...but 1.87 bar!!

Is this safe,cos im doing a trackday next month and dont want to blow the thing up!

Thanks.

·
Registered
513 Posts
I'm no expert but i think most people on here will say thats too high a boost on standard internals

mine goes higher at this time of the year i think its the colder weather - cold air in tend to add to the power - so i have a few settings on my boost contoller and turn it down to max 1.60 then put it back in the summer keeping it steady again no more than 1.60.

can you turn the boost down till you can have it checked out as it could also be your actuator sticking and causing over boost which will need fixing (probably stuck)

·
Tarmac Tyre Shredder
14,559 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Just been out tonight in the car,set the peak on the gauges back to zero....gave it a bit of stick and 1.81 bar peak boost!!

I wd40'd the actuator before hand,to see if it made any difference.

Would it be ok to do a trackday on this,the car feels fine,no fuel cuts,just rather rapid.

:confused: :confused:

·
TOO many posts.......
17,132 Posts
Mine peaks @1.69, 24psi, i`d say yours it a little too high, although some people have run 1.8, but for how long i don`t know, if you`re going on a trackday, or anything come to think of it, i`d turn it down to 1.6ish... :D

·
Tarmac Tyre Shredder
14,559 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 · (Edited)