Lancer Register Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey Guys,

I was just wondering, when should you upgrade your internals? First, HOW do internals fail? Is it dependant upon the amount of power your engine is putting out, or is it dependant upon the amount of pressure/boost you run?

So, if I had a larger turbo running at 1.2 bar (or less), would I need internals? Even though the power would be far greater, the boost is relatively low? Yes/No? OR is it power dependant?

Cheers!

G

·
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Disclaimer: I am no expert, some of the following may need correction :)

Internals fail when they take more mechanical stress (or heat, or both combined) than the materials can handle.

It's dependant more on torque (and air mass for compression forces on the piston) than on power. 350bhp/310ft lb (tuned road evo) is less stressful than 310bhp/400ft lbs (wrc tuned evo) on the various engine bits.

As for when... well, there's various replies. Personally I'd upgrade as soon as I started tuning, as I'm concerned with engine life and reliability. I'd rather run bits at 70% of rated capacity (ie max torque/power figures) than 95%, as they are much less likely to fail. Given the conrods/ARP bolts are often quoted as the weakest link in the 4G63, I'd be tempted to get these done before I even upped the boost from standard, although people on here have been running 1.4/1.5 bar (original turbo) on the standard internals without experiencing problems. Others have done the same and blown engines within a month.

Blade and Just Custard are the resident tuning experts (both have slightly differing views on tuning too). I'd pick their brains, as they both have experience of taking evo's pretty far on the tuning curve. Lightspeed is the god of turbo's :D and most of the guys here have done breathing and boost mods.