Lancer Register Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Premium Member
57 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all, Im hoping to have a little discussion hear not really questions and answers type thing.
Ill give you a little back ground info before I start. I'm new to Evo ownership and absolutely love it. The responsiveness, the handling, the looks, Mega. HOWEVER a close friend recently bought an e92 M3 (lovely machine but not my taste) which is pushing over 550BHP not sure on torque. Now as much as I love the E6 and I thought stock was enough power.. After being in the M3 it just isn't.
So my thoughts are these.
At what point in chasing power and by that I'm generalising both Torque and BHP do the effects of that become counter productive for everyday / street driving. for example the fun of getting to 50 / 60 / 70mph (national speed limits of course):smthumbup on my journey to work is one of the main reasons I bought an Evo. So at what horsepower does it become too much? What point is it that the turbo LAG negates the fun of over taking etc.. Or does it ever? At what point have you created a track only monster because that's the only place you can take advantage of a large turbo and anti lag systems?

So like I said gents just thought id see if we could start a discussion based on your experiences, maybe the less experience of us on hear can gain a little guidance, save those costly mod mistakes.:mitsi:

·
Registered
524 Posts
Well the Evo takes power very well being 4WD after all. Out of interest which Evo do you have?

It is quite easy to get quite a few extra horses with a 3 port solenoid and a remap.

Having 550 in the M3 is lovely and all but round a track with corners a lower powered Evo would decimate it.

·
Premium Member
Regional Organiser
6,843 Posts
Well the Evo takes power very well being 4WD after all. Out of interest which Evo do you have?

It is quite easy to get quite a few extra horses with a 3 port solenoid and a remap.