Lancer Register Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
113 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi - I'm a newbie and apologise if this seems to be a noddy question.

I'm looking at a Evo 5 tomorrow with the following engine spec:

Currently recording 351bhp and 333 lb/ft torque on dyno with 1.4bar.
RC Developments Stage 2 conversion
Walbro Motorsport fuel pump
ARP Con-Ron bolts
Apexi AVC-R electronic boost controller mapped for 1.2 bar and 1.4 bar.
APEXI Power FC ECU mapped by RC Developments
Uprated actuator
Forge Blow off valve
HKS Iridium Spark plugs S40G
HKS Super Powerflow Induction Kit
HKS Titanium Tipped Hi Power Muffler Exhaust System
RC Development De-Cat Pipe
Stainless Steel Front Pipe

What will be needed to push past the 400bhp barrier, bearing in-mind that this car will be mainly used on the track?

·
Registered
2,032 Posts
I would have thought some 264 or 272 cams and crank the boost up to 1.6bar'ish will see you close to 400hp - however not sure how reliable that will be on a stock E5 engine although I note you have APR rod bolts which are a positive.

·
TOO many posts.......
17,132 Posts
If you`re going to use it mainly for track, why not get the suspension set up all sorted, you`ll be suprised how much difference that will make, 350+ bhp you have isn`t that shy really :D

·
Registered
21,179 Posts
For 400 you will probably need an uprated intercooler with full hard pipe set. Cams are a must, a set of HKS 272/272 with pulleys are a good idea. Get it remapped and up the boost to around 1.6bar and you sould see 400bhp. :)

But as said previously, i thought e5's were at there limit at 360-380bhp on standard internals. You can get 400bhp with the parts mentioned but how long your engine will last remains to be seen.

·
Registered
4,469 Posts
northerner said:
Hi - I'm a newbie and apologise if this seems to be a noddy question.

I'm looking at a Evo 5 tomorrow with the following engine spec: