Lancer Register Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
524 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My mates computer is f**ked because his little sister installs uninstalls s*it and downloads even more.

He has backed up what he wants onto CD and just wants to reinstall windows XP back to when it arrived

Anybody with good advise please HELP!! :)

·
Registered
138 Posts
Also well worth getting some backup software like Norton Ghost so you can take an image of a 'clean' installation.

Saves the pain of having to re-register Windows, especially since Microsoft will lock the key out after about 5 goes.

·
Registered
524 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Weebl said:
Change the boot device order in the BIOS to boot from CD before HD.

Put the windows XP CD in.

Boot the computer.

Follow the on screen prompts for a new install (delete the partitions and redo them)
Me and me mate are complete novices how do we do that how do i get into the BIOS

thanks

·
Registered
138 Posts
Depends on the make of the machine, but it normally says on the power-on screen.
Something like:

F2 for Menu
or
Press DEL to enter setup

Then it's usually in the basic settings menu.

·
Registered
24,450 Posts
okay you clever people.

I have ME edition main pc but have two lappies xp. I have a dos programme for my window pricing structure and can't save it to install on xp is there a way round it.

Ta very much.

Oh and Its worth a £10 to someone who can help me. :D

·
Registered
9,716 Posts
Makes said:
okay you clever people.

I have ME edition main pc but have two lappies xp. I have a dos programme for my window pricing structure and can't save it to install on xp is there a way round it.

Ta very much.

Oh and Its worth a £10 to someone who can help me. :D
It won't work properly if at all on an XP machine as XP does not 'do' DOS.

Be much better to write it again in Excel or similar.

·
Registered
2,148 Posts
Does he have the factory restore on discs, or is it on a partition in the HD?