Lancer Register Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Having been to Stratford for the weekend Friday to Sunday (on an Insurance Seminar) I was only able to drive the car on Sunday so......

Stratford to Stoke via Bromsgrove Shrewsbury etc.- stop for lunch and then home.

I did over 250 miles all none motorway - FANTASTIC - not sure the girlfriend will agree - LOL
Didnt see one other Evo! Showed an M3 who's the daddy though.

The car gets loads of admiring glances - peolple seem to respect your choice of car. Also other drivers seem to move out of your way, even if you are not going to overtake them (and no I dont drive on there bumper - 2 second rule).

On the way back from my girlfriends (at night) I got what I'd been waiting for - some nice yellow flashes from the exhaust - the only thing is I cant replicate the senario when it happens (sad I know).

Jeremy

G

·
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Hmmm... I'm no expert ;), but try changing up just before the limiter kicks (around 7k|PLS|rpm), the ECU should overfuel (and retard) enough on the overrun to get fuel burning all the way down the pipe.

This is not from experience, I still have the OEM 'zorst :(

Cat's, resonator sections and (restrictive) backboxes are (apparently) the main stopping points for flames. From memory you have a de-cat, dunno how straight the rest is though.

No doubt someone else on here can provide more reliable (read: factual) info, but that's what I'd gathered on getting it to flame on command :D

Oh, and flames from the pipe mean flames through the turbo, so don't expect the turbo to last as long as it might have otherwise (although the percentage decrease in life-expectancy is a matter of debate)... :(

Derek

G

·
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I haven't tried the above as I don't normally rev above 6500 rpm (no point).

If you find ouself a nice bit of motorway and acceleerate ard in 4th or fit up to about 5500 or above and ten brake heavily you can get flames.