Lancer Register Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just joined the BBS and I'm interested to know how some of you guys manage to run more than around 1.2Bar boost pressure without hitting fuel cut and/or running lean.

With my current situation, I cannot see any other way but to replace the ECU. Is that how you've all gone about it?

Initially, I fitted an HKS FCD. This device scales the MAP signal to the ECU thus having the effect of shifting fuel-cut higher up the scale, albeit at the expense of leaning out the mixture (hit 16.3 at WOT.. which did give me rather a scary moment!). This lean condition was compensated by fitting a higher pressure fuel-pump that brought the A/R down to around the 10 mark. So by further increasing the division ratio of the HKS FCD, the mixture was leaned out to a more respectable 12.0 at WOT.

Okay, I admit all that sounds like a bit of a cludge but I'm just learning about the car and I like to start things slowly and experiment; take things stage by stage, all that kind of thing.

There was also some problem with the boost curve, which turned out to be a faulty wastegate actuator. The seal had perished around the actuator rod, which meant most of the pressure was escaping down the side of the rod. When the actuator pod was cut open, it was *very* rusty inside. I figured that, over time, water had corroded the rod at the base and wrecked the seal.

A new actuator pod was sourced from Turbo Technics. The old pod was cut from the stock bracket and the new one bolted on. This also gave the opportunity of fitting a pod with a lower actuation pressure, so as to make it faster acting and to give the opportunity of running lower boost when just cruising along motorways and the like.