Lancer Register Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
567 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, I'm a newbie here, so be gentle! ;)

After 10 years of Subaru Impreza ownership, I've finally been swayed to the dark side. I absolutely love the UK Evo VIII MR FQ models and I will be looking to buy one as soon as possible. However, as I'm new to Evo ownership, I was hoping for the expertise of this community in what I should be looking out for and the right questions to ask when viewing. I won't be jumping straight in the deep end and want to make sure the car is right for me.

Just for reference, my budget is around 10K and I'm not overly concerned which FQ model I buy. I hope you can help with the above and I look forward to being a contributing member of this community.

·
Registered
567 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
You'll need more than 10k to get yourself a good low miled MR mate.

Welcome :)
Really? I've seen quite a few for around 10K with 50,000 on the clock. Would you suggest not going near them for this price?

What are the performance differences between the MR FQ-300 and the standard FQ-300? Maybe I should keep my options open. :confused:

·
Registered
16,995 Posts
Really? I've seen quite a few for around 10K with 50,000 on the clock. Would you suggest not going near them for this price?

What are the performance differences between the MR FQ-300 and the standard FQ-300? Maybe I should keep my options open. :confused:
Yes you'll get a good one for £10k with reasonable miles.

The MR has quite a few upgrades to the VIII FQ and is a much better car IMO. ;)

Different interior (seats / dash panels etc).
Aluminium roof.
Different wheels.
Different lights
to name a few.

Just be careful of rust around the bootlid where the spoiler attaches, flaking laquer on the spoiler and AYC lights ;)

·
Registered
5,278 Posts
Yes you'll get a good one for £10k with reasonable miles.

The MR has quite a few upgrades to the VIII FQ and is a much better car IMO. ;)