Lancer Register Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
617 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just looking for some advice, maybe some of you know your fords.

I'm a tuning agent and I did a dpf remove and delete & remap on a customers ford Mondeo

Customer was very pleased with results. Drove it around 40/50 miles that night and went to work in morning.

He was letting his friends take shots at his work place. Car was sitting idle and it cut out.

It would no longer start, customer called me. Neither myself or my tuner could understand how it could be anything to do with software.

I decided to go down and reverse the software just to make sure. Car still acted the same.

I suggested spare key. Spare key "seemed to be dead"

Also I noticed when entering the car it stated "fob battery low"

I swapped the batteries around and then the spare key did same as original key, stated fob battery low. It wouldn't lock the doors but the open button seemed to work as it would activate the puddle lights.

The boot unlock button also worked.

It was my suggestion that he gets in touch with a good ford technician that I know as it may well be the key needs to be reset as the battery has got so low.

He went straight to dealership, they blamed software, replaced dpf pipe and reflashed original software and presumably reset keys.

I would just honestly like to get a few opinions as I'm happy to take blame if I am to blame.

I've tuned lots of these mondeos and my tuner has many years experience, he reckons its an unfortunate coincidence.

Its a 58 plate Mondeo, the one with the smart key.

Like I said, drove fine on test drive, drove fine that night and next morning.

I asked about the key blob being low, he said its been low for a while but still opens and locks doors.

Any opinions would be appreciated.

·
Registered
7,944 Posts