Lancer Register Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
377 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
im a young self employed builder with my father currently recovering from a knee op to repair torn cartilage. (now had both knees done at the young age of 21)

there was no trauma or accident so to speak, but can only put it down to my job (like whitefinger, or mesothelioma something that occurs as a result of years of abuse)

jus wondering if theres anywhere i can claim anything from due to it being work related?!?!

(im well aware that being self employed means its my responsibity to stop these things from happening, and that it might be the stupidest question going, just curious weather i could get something out of robbin insurence companies!!)

·
Registered
18,120 Posts
Being self employed I suppose you could sue yourself for not providing yourself a safe work environment and a failure to wear suitable work attire for the task in hand. It's an unusual case but I'm sure some blood sucking solicitor would represent you in taking yourself on. ;)

·
Registered
377 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
the only way i can see is that ive only become self employed with in the last year, previously i was employed by my dad. if it ment me making a bit of money off the back of my injury, hed be cool with it, but i dont want to give my self a health and safety head ache in future, as its obvious this hasnt only happened in the year ive been SE.

i hope what im trying to say is comming across right

·
Registered
5,487 Posts
the only way i can see is that I've only become self employed with in the last year, previously i was employed by my dad. if it meant me making a bit of money off the back of my injury, he'd be cool with it, but i don't want to give my self a health and safety head ache in future, as its obvious this hasn't only happened in the year I've been SE.

I hope what I'm trying to say is coming across right