Lancer Register Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I currently have the HKS 272i and 264e cams.

I was thinking of going for the 272e cams, but don't fully understand the benefits and disadvantages of doing this.

Can I have some advice please?

G

·
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Blade,

You will definitely benefit from the 272 exhaust cams especially if you are running a bigger turbo. I can't explain it properly though as I am not an engineer :) But you will get more exhaust flow out of your engine. Idle quality is still ok.

A set of adjustable cam gears will be a great help too.

Regards

G

·
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks TurboAWD - I already have the HKS adjustable cam wheels, so will go get the 272 cam. Should be able to sell the other one easy enough!

G

·
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks TurboAWD - I already have the HKS adjustable cam wheels, so will go get the 272 cam. Should be able to sell the other one easy enough!

G

·
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Blade,

I dunno how much you know about valve timings etc so i'll start basic and apologise for boring you:-

The period of a cam is the number of degrees rotation of the crank that the valve is held open for. In a classic 4 stroke (otto cycle (sounds like a kraut motorbike :))) the period would be 180 degrees which is the duration of the exhaust stroke. However due to inertial effects i.e gas doesn't want to start moving if its not already moving and on the flip side if you got gas moving fast it wants to stay moving fast, you actually want much longer openings than this. 290 isn't uncommon for fast road 2 valve/cyl engines. 4 valve/cyl have less due to increased curtain area (flow area around circumferance of valve).