Lancer Register Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all its been a very long time since ive owned and evo but have just brought me am 2001 evo 7 jdm

now im a total noob on these so please be gentle with me

its going for a service and i would like to know which is the best spark plugs for me to use and oil if anyone could tell me

the car is running 365bhp

Thanks guys

·
Premium Member
116 Posts
I use bp8res plugs in my E7 at 393hp with no problems
I like to use millers nano tech oil for engine but to be honest most good quality branded fully synthetic oil is ok

Check out opi oils website

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
thanks guys ill order some plugs then

its just the oil i never quite understand so many different ones
5w40
5w30 etc.etc

175 Posts
The correct spark plug will be the ones determined by your tuner. But as may not know this, pull one of the plugs to see what temp it is before buying the incorrect temp for your tune.

7 is the std heat range but either 7 or 8 will be good for your Hp/boost level.

Set the gap to the same as what is in your engine now as you know that it runs right now so best to keep this the same. Get a feeler gauge when you get spark plugs.

NGK Bcpr7es & Bcpr8es are the standard type plugs that we use and Bcpr7eix/Bcpr8eix are the Irdium equivalent. Only difference between std type plugs and Iridium is how long they last.
If you dont want to change plugs every time you do an oil change then get Iridiums.

Be very careful when gapping Iridiums though as you can easily damage them beyond repair.

Hope that's helpful.
Send me a message if you would like to know more.

Best regards,
James

·
Premium Member
1,062 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
thanks for the help guys

still learning on these evos

but love the car so far just a little hard on the ride but its an evo :)

just want to get it serviced first so thats why i asked