Lancer Register Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Premium Member
256 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

I've not been around for a while as I've been working in Russia since 2012.
I was missing my car too much, so I decided to drive it to Moscow where I attempted to get it registered on Diplomatic number plates, which should have been straight forward, but wasn't......

During the registration process inspection, the inspector checked the paint depth with a meter. He found that the paint around the bulkhead VIN was a different depth to that on the rest of the car & said it would need further investigation as he suspects the VIN has been altered. I laughed as I (stupidly) thought I knew the history of the car.

Long story short; it went for further investigation where the paint was stripped from the bulkhead VIN and sure enough it is evident that the VIN has been tampered with. Interpol were involved & the police national databases were searched but there was no evidence that the car had been stolen, & nothing showed on the other VIN that is partially visible.

I've now driven the car back to the UK and re-registered it, but I'm left with a visibly adulterated VIN with no paint covering and a potentially worthless car!

My question is: the car is known as a RALLIART EVO 6 GSR, and was advertised as 'Official UK Ralliart Evo 6 GSR' but if it's an import and an SVA was issued, how is it a UK Ralliart?

Does anyone know how to get a replacement SVA certificate? I've searched online but there is nothing really forthcoming.

The car in question was well known & previously owned by Steve_Barrow, Smiles & "6": http://www.lancerregister.com/showthread.php?t=348003&highlight=W79+NHE

·
Premium Member
660 Posts
If nothing sinister showed up on any checks then I'd just re-paint the bulkhead, forget all about it all and enjoy your car :smthumbup

·
EVOHOLIC !
5,689 Posts