Why such a massive difference in price for Teins over Ohlins ? - Mitsubishi Lancer Register Forum

Go Back   Mitsubishi Lancer Register Forum > Technical > Suspension / Handling

Old 10-05-2019, 20:32   #1
shauno
Senior User

Car: Gunmetal MRFQ360 HKS
My Car
Why such a massive difference in price for Teins over Ohlins ?

So wish to replace my suspension as advised on last service. Also soon to be contacting CR1 for some underside work (thought I could get everything done at the same time)

Personally I feel my car handles perfect for me, ride is a perfect comfort. But the the price of full kit of Bilsteins I can go Coilovers, which I feel most prefer now?

I'm an occasional fine weather driver & attend a few shows each year, car wont be going on track, but want confidence in the suspension if we have a little B-road blast.

Can anyone explain why the large price difference between Teins & Ohlins, are Ohlins really that much better? I've always thought Teins were good quality (never owned any tein suspension before)

Look forward to thoughts, opinions & suggestions
shauno is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-05-2019, 07:14   #2
Evo6er
Senior User

Car: EVO 8 MR
My Car
Itís like everything in life you get what you pay for. If itís just a B road bomber Iíd consider Bilstein B14ís which are a comfy good quality coilover that arenít as expensive as ohlins.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
shauno (11-05-2019)
Old 11-05-2019, 08:17   #3
dreMR
Senior User

Iíve got ohlins on mine love them. I do find them hard at slow speeds. I can feel every little bump in the road and change in road surface which is good in a performance car I think.

Iíve been running them at ten clicks from hard as recommended but recently started playing with the settings, currently at 13 clicks from hard and the car feels much better on the road at speed.

I can hold the throttle wide open now on certain bits of road where before I would lift as it felt a bit nervous.