Bleeding AYC With EvoScan?? - Mitsubishi Lancer Register Forum
 
 

Go Back   Mitsubishi Lancer Register Forum > Technical > Gearbox / Clutch / Transmission

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-02-2009, 16:09   #1
H3rmaN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: NE Scotland
Car: Evo V GSR
My Car
Posts: 1,889
Question Bleeding AYC With EvoScan??

Right, I've got EvoScan and a limitless cable with pin 9 removed so that it can access they AYC ECU.

Wanting to give the rear diff oils a change, (gear oil & AYC clutch bath oil), but also want to make sure the system is properly bled.

When using EvoScan to bleed the AYC is is as simple as hooking up the cable to the car and laptop, connecting to the AYC ECU then selecting "Activate" on the "Air Bleeding" actuator and thats it?

Does the engine have to be running, or only have the key in the no. 2 position?

Do the wheels need to be raised off the ground?

Do I need any containers, etc under the car to catch any oil when the actuators are running?

Think thats all I need to know just now.

Cheers!
__________________
H3rmaN is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 19-02-2009, 22:34   #2
grayw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hampshire
Car: Evo
Posts: 19,543
Pin 9 is only used on scooboes and just causes interference on Mitsubishi's.
As with any AYC/ACD bleed, you need to be able to open the bleed nipples and the ignition also needs to be on.
grayw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2009, 07:15   #3
H3rmaN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: NE Scotland
Car: Evo V GSR
My Car
Posts: 1,889
Cheers mate. As I said my cable has pin 9 removed because I know its not needed for Evo's.

Do the wheels need to be able to turn (ie all 4 wheels off the ground)? Or can I simply jack up the rear end?

Also, does anyone have any pics of where the left & right bleed nipples are located?
__________________
H3rmaN is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 20-02-2009, 07:45   #4
grayw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hampshire
Car: Evo
Posts: 19,543
No the wheels don't have to rotate.
grayw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2009, 16:54   #5
H3rmaN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: NE Scotland
Car: Evo V GSR
My Car
Posts: 1,889
Cheers mate, and just to double check, in order to bleed the AYC all I do is....
  1. Jack up car
  2. Hook up laptop to MUT-II port
  3. Set ignition to point no. 2, but dont actually start the engine
  4. Connect to the AYC ECU
  5. Run "Air Bleeding" actuators on EvoScan
  6. Open bleed nipple, and keep open until air gone/oil squirts out, then close bleed nipple
  7. repeat with bleed nipple on other side
  8. Stop the actuators by clicking the "Air Bleeding" actuator button again
  9. Top up boot reservoir with AYC fluid
  10. Done!

Is that correct? Just want to make sure I've got it all right so I dont go and break something.
__________________

Last edited by H3rmaN; 20-02-2009 at 16:55..
H3rmaN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2009, 18:35   #6
grayw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hampshire
Car: Evo
Posts: 19,543
You need to also operate the upcheck left and righ valves from within Evoscan.
grayw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2009, 18:48   #7
H3rmaN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: NE Scotland
Car: Evo V GSR
My Car
Posts: 1,889
Where abouts in the order of doing it does that go? Just after opening the bleed nipple on the revelvant side?

Eg...
  1. Jack up car
  2. Hook up laptop to MUT-II port
  3. Set ignition to point no. 2, but dont actually start the engine
  4. Connect to the AYC ECU
  5. Run "Air Bleeding" actuators on EvoScan
  6. Open left bleed nipple
  7. Operate "OP Check L" actuator
  8. Keep bleed nipple open until air gone/oil squirts out
  9. Stop "OP Check L" actuator by clicking the actuator button again
  10. Close bleed nipple
  11. repeat with bleed nipple on other side
  12. Stop the actuators by clicking the "Air Bleeding" actuator button again
  13. Top up boot reservoir with AYC fluid
  14. Done!

That right?

Cheers!
__________________

Last edited by H3rmaN; 20-02-2009 at 18:49..
H3rmaN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2009, 18:53   #8
grayw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hampshire
Car: Evo
Posts: 19,543
That's about right, connect a length of hose to the bleed points and to a container.
grayw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2009, 19:02   #9
H3rmaN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: NE Scotland
Car: Evo V GSR
My Car
Posts: 1,889
Cheers mate! Will get some AYC oil ordered from Indigo-GT and will hopefully have the oils changed and AYC bled some time during the week.
__________________
H3rmaN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2009, 19:07   #10
Stu VI
Registered User
 
Stu VI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Aberdeen
Car: Evoless and rich!
My Car
Posts: 1,333
Quote:
Originally Posted by H3rmaN View Post
Cheers mate! Will get some AYC oil ordered from Indigo-GT and will hopefully have the oils changed and AYC bled some time during the week.
If you have any left you could do mine aswell
__________________
Ssshhh don't cry, have a banana!!
Stu VI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2009, 19:29   #11
H3rmaN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: NE Scotland
Car: Evo V GSR
My Car
Posts: 1,889
Lol, first lets see how things turn out. I'm getting some minor squaking from the rear diff.

Used to be pretty bad, got Mitsu to do it, 99% went away, and now its kind of starting to become more noticable. So want to give it a proper flush and clean out a couple of times to get rid of any crap that's built up.

However in order for Mitsu to do that for me they will charge me for 2 or 3 full AYC services, and at £65 each I'd rather do it myself seeing as I have everything I need bar the actual oil.
__________________
H3rmaN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2009, 19:35   #12
Stu VI
Registered User
 
Stu VI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Aberdeen
Car: Evoless and rich!
My Car
Posts: 1,333
£65 a go?! Shocking.

What cable is that you are using by the way?
__________________
Ssshhh don't cry, have a banana!!
Stu VI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2009, 20:01   #13
H3rmaN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: NE Scotland
Car: Evo V GSR
My Car
Posts: 1,889
Yea, £65 to drain & refill the clutch bath and to also bleed the system.

I've got the 2nd item/1st cable cable on this page (OpenPort 1.3U Universal USB Cable Datalogging and EcuFlash Reprogramming Cable), remember to ask for it WITHOUT pin 9 if you want to access the AYC and ABS stuff. Pin 9 is only used on Scoobys, nothing to do with the Evo at all, and just causes interference.

Currently using it with EvoScan 2.6 BETA 4.

EDIT: Actually its £59 labour, £9.48 parts/oil and VAT ontop of that!!

So thats £68.48 + VAT = 78.75!!!!

Had them do a couple of other things at the same time, so when I said £65 I must of been thinking about the price without VAT, dug out the paperwork and found it to be the best part of £80!

So id rather learn myself (not exactly much can go wrong to be honest, esp with draining & filling the clutch bath) than have to pay them £80 a go!

After a couple of flushes thats £160! You can get about 12 litres of oil for that price, and from reading around the clutch bath uses just under 1 litre of oil!
__________________

Last edited by H3rmaN; 20-02-2009 at 20:18..
H3rmaN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2009, 20:19   #14
Stu VI
Registered User
 
Stu VI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Aberdeen
Car: Evoless and rich!
My Car
Posts: 1,333
I've ordered the OP2 cable, should be with me next week. Not working with evoscan just now, but it's in the pipeline.

Are you able to flash with the 1.3?
__________________
Ssshhh don't cry, have a banana!!
Stu VI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2009, 20:35   #15
H3rmaN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: NE Scotland
Car: Evo V GSR
My Car
Posts: 1,889
Havn't tried flashing mate, don't know if I would trust myself doing that. Also, I dont thing the Evo 5 & 6 have the reflash port in the footwell like the Evo 7 - 9.

Just had a quick look at the OP2 cable and it says its basically a 1.3u cable but with support for Evo 5, 6 and 10 flashing, so dont think you can flash with the 1.3u.

Also, how is it not working with EvoScan? Seeing at its just a 1.3u with extra features?
__________________

Last edited by H3rmaN; 20-02-2009 at 20:37..
H3rmaN is offline   Reply With Quote
Mitsubishi Lancer Register
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT. The time now is 20:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.