AYC Electrical issue - Mitsubishi Lancer Register Forum
 
 

Go Back   Mitsubishi Lancer Register Forum > Technical > Gearbox / Clutch / Transmission

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 30-05-2015, 09:20   #1
foxbat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Car: JDM Evo VI GSR
Posts: 293
AYC Electrical issue

Got an Evo 7 with both AYC & ACD, the car was previously rewired with a complete wiring loom.
AYC pump seems to kick in real soon while in straight line, at minimal throttle rather than full throttle, and it's affecting the car electricity as I see the dash lights dim down for moment when the pump operates! I'm also suspecting that it might be affecting the fuel pump performance. When I disconnect the AYC pump the problem is gone & the car performers better!

Should the AYC pump operate while in straight line at minimal throttle?
I have Evoscan & I can log the AYC ECU, but I'm not sure to look for!

Last edited by foxbat; 30-05-2015 at 09:35..
foxbat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2015, 10:00   #2
richyx
Senior User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3,587
for the ayc to kick in on a straight line would be down to a sensor but it runs off so many different sensors

all 4 wheel speed sensors
g sensors
steering angle sensor
ecu
i think abs ecu as well

as you say the wiring has been changed what exactly has it been changed for? and why was it changed

also check the passenger kick well as the ayc loom plugs into the main car loom there behind the kick panel, check for corrosion in the plugs as its a common problem and causes all sorts of issues
richyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2015, 10:15   #3
foxbat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Car: JDM Evo VI GSR
Posts: 293
I'm not sure, the car had some electrical issues & the former owner opted to install a new, entire loom!
Beside the sensors you mentioned, AYC does read TPS angle & brake light switch as well.
I have checked those AYC loom plugs & they look fine.
Since the issue is causing the AYC pump to operates early & in a straight line, the pump is over working & overheating.

Last edited by foxbat; 30-05-2015 at 10:16..
foxbat is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 30-05-2015, 14:47   #4
Capt.Mike
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UK
Car: BMW M4
My Car
Posts: 11,492
pump should only run to pressurise system. then cut out on the pressure switch. If the pump is creating excessive load then there would be a higher drain on the electrical system. Correct earthing could be an issue. Can you try someone elses pump? Probably easiest to remove pump and see if it turns easily.
__________________
Capt.Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2015, 10:04   #5
foxbat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Car: JDM Evo VI GSR
Posts: 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by Capt.Mike View Post
pump should only run to pressurise system. then cut out on the pressure switch. If the pump is creating excessive load then there would be a higher drain on the electrical system. Correct earthing could be an issue. Can you try someone elses pump? Probably easiest to remove pump and see if it turns easily.
Could it be a faulty pressure sensor? But then I'd have the AYC fault light on.. correct?
foxbat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2015, 10:08   #6
richyx
Senior User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3,587
you would yes if it was a pressure switch

but a pump only needs to pressure upto 2.5 bar i think to tirn light off, where they should run 12-15bar
richyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2015, 12:45   #7
Capt.Mike
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UK
Car: BMW M4
My Car
Posts: 11,492
I don't know what pressure the light goes out. But as Richy says, if the pressure switch wasn't working then the pump could run and it probably would overheat. There isn't a thermal protection on the pump but there comes a point where something has to give. If you can try another pump that would be best check. Then ayc ecu etc.
__________________
Capt.Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-2020, 00:45   #8
adriank
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 3
Was this ever resolved? I have the exact same problem!
adriank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-2020, 13:16   #9
r3k1355
Senior User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 266
Have you scanned for fault codes?
r3k1355 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-2020, 13:52   #10
grants
Senior User
 
grants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
My Car
Posts: 9,234
Quote:
Originally Posted by r3k1355 View Post
Have you scanned for fault codes?
Scan with what
grants is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT. The time now is 10:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.