ACD lights - Corroded plugs in footwell - Page 2 - Mitsubishi Lancer Register Forum
 
 

Go Back   Mitsubishi Lancer Register Forum > Technical > Electrical / Security / ICE / Navigation

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 6 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 21-03-2011, 15:30   #16
Stevolution
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Yorkshire
Car: Vii FQ300
My Car
Posts: 309
Quote:
Originally Posted by Randolf View Post
Thank god i found this thread as i was away to buy an ayc pump cause of the lights being on!!

but a few months back i had the front seats out of the car and passenger front carpet up and found some dampness but put it down to wet shoes on the carpet but now im thinking this could well be the culprit because i have the front arch liners and wings off and i think the bottom half of my black box is missing thus letting in the water!!!

So i now know what im checking for and will post up my findings tommorow night

Thanks for this info

How did you get on? Been a few months now.....
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Stevolution is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 22-03-2011, 16:21   #17
Jonny IX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Shropshire
Car: Evo IX MRFQ340 + Honda Civic Type R EP3
Posts: 1,190
Ok guys, this is the problem im suffering from but as its common on the 7/8/9 I decided to call mitsi and ask if it is seen as a manufacturers fault...

The woman on the phone has said in order for it to be looked at by mitsi as a fault then, the car would need a full mitsi diagnostics !

Has anyone had this done for this problem and had it fixed as a manufacturers fault or a goodwill gesture by mitsi to fix it as the 789 is now out of warranty.

Its obviously a manufacturers fault but most people will pay to fix or do it themselves.

Mitsi quote £800 to change all wiring that goes to the problem connectors and they will not waterproof the loom as according to a very helpful guy at mitsi in shrewsbury that would be accepting fault and as there hasnt been alot of people coming forward mitsi are happy to ignore it.

Surely we can all pull together and make it a fault ???
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Jonny IX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2011, 19:33   #18
Mosh
Registered User
 
Mosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NW
Car: R35 GT-R. Previous VIII, IX FQ-320, X FQ-330sst, IX FQ-340 XT400 by Xtreme, IX MR FQ-360 By HKS.
Posts: 601
Yep, sounds like a re-call to me.

My three greens came on litterally today for the first time. I'd read the 'Evo VII -IX electrics' thread co-incidently only a week ago and that thread directed me to this one.

I've inspected the wires in the pax footwell.They look fine to me - as new. No water detected,infact as we're all aware, there hasn't been any rain for weeks (in NW at least) and no damp in pax footwell,so why should they come on now,in a drought. AYC oil is at max. Some one suggested a brake light u/s lit up his three greens.I haven't checked that yet as need to wait for mrs to get back from work to do it.

When I inspected the wiring, I did give them an incouraging shove in the right direction and up to now back to normal, but that's only just turning the ignition on, not driving the car.

Fingers crossed. Very useful thread. If it continues I'll consult the dealer.I'll post what they say here if and when it happens.
Mosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 18-04-2011, 14:12   #19
Mosh
Registered User
 
Mosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NW
Car: R35 GT-R. Previous VIII, IX FQ-320, X FQ-330sst, IX FQ-340 XT400 by Xtreme, IX MR FQ-360 By HKS.
Posts: 601
All front and tail lights working.

ACD lights normal today. Could it have been something so simple as a push on the wiring? Fingers crossed for now.
Mosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2011, 07:25   #20
Stevolution
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Yorkshire
Car: Vii FQ300
My Car
Posts: 309
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mosh View Post
All front and tail lights working.

ACD lights normal today. Could it have been something so simple as a push on the wiring? Fingers crossed for now.
Possible, More likely to be a sensor malfunctioning. Monitor it and if it returns try flashing up the code.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Stevolution is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2011, 09:37   #21
Mosh
Registered User
 
Mosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NW
Car: R35 GT-R. Previous VIII, IX FQ-320, X FQ-330sst, IX FQ-340 XT400 by Xtreme, IX MR FQ-360 By HKS.
Posts: 601
Stevolution - when you say 'flashing up the code', do you mean a diagnostic check at a dealers.
Mosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2011, 11:47   #22
V3 NGS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 132
You mentioned the fuel pump could anyone tell me what colour the fuel pump wires are so I can check mine cheers
V3 NGS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2011, 17:55   #23
Mosh
Registered User
 
Mosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NW
Car: R35 GT-R. Previous VIII, IX FQ-320, X FQ-330sst, IX FQ-340 XT400 by Xtreme, IX MR FQ-360 By HKS.
Posts: 601
All three lights on again today. Took it to dealers - AYC pump is xxxx.
BIG dosh.
Mosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2011, 19:00   #24
flying-haggis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Fife - Scotland
Car: VIII MR FQ320 - Zafira - Clio 16v(project car) - 2005 Kawasaki ZX636R
My Car
Posts: 1,960
I wouldn't take what say as gospel.

Get it to a specialist for a second opinion.
__________________
A PASSION FOR LIFE. A PASSION FOR RACING. MARCO SIMONCELLI 1987-2011 - RIP #58

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
VIII MR FQ 320 - Serviced By
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
/ Mapped By
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by flying-haggis; 19-04-2011 at 19:03..
flying-haggis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2011, 12:27   #25
Stevolution
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Yorkshire
Car: Vii FQ300
My Car
Posts: 309
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mosh View Post
All three lights on again today. Took it to dealers - AYC pump is xxxx.
BIG dosh.

After hard wiring and sealing up my loom i had 6 months happy motoring until a Genuine ACD/AYC fault occurred.

On this occasion i went to Mitsi and got told the same thing as you, Let me guess! They quoted you around £2500 to fix it???

I got in touch with a specialist found on here and resolved this so called pump failure myself for £120.
From my understanding of dealers, They'd rather replace items than repair.
They'd prefer to throw on new bits and get you out the door (minus your ££££s) than to try save YOU a bob or two.


I'll PM you details
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Stevolution is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2011, 12:31   #26
Stevolution
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Yorkshire
Car: Vii FQ300
My Car
Posts: 309
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mosh View Post
Stevolution - when you say 'flashing up the code', do you mean a diagnostic check at a dealers.

No although that is an option.
You can also link out terminals 1-4 on the black plug under your dash.
The ACD lights will start to flash a series of long then short flashes.
long ones = 10s shorts ones = 1s Add them up and check them against the workshop manuals fault register thats available as a Full member from the main page.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Stevolution is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2011, 16:07   #27
Mosh
Registered User
 
Mosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NW
Car: R35 GT-R. Previous VIII, IX FQ-320, X FQ-330sst, IX FQ-340 XT400 by Xtreme, IX MR FQ-360 By HKS.
Posts: 601
Stevolution - thanks for pm mate.
Mosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2011, 19:12   #28
flying-haggis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Fife - Scotland
Car: VIII MR FQ320 - Zafira - Clio 16v(project car) - 2005 Kawasaki ZX636R
My Car
Posts: 1,960
After reading this thread months ago I thought I'd have a check of the plugs in my passenger foot well today for any corrosion.

Thankfully nothing to report, so i decided to go ahead anyway and remove the plastic box the the loom sits in and wrap with electrical tape. The loom was bone dry prior to wrapping so I think I have been lucky.

Thanks for the heads up in the first place Stevolution

I thing its a disgrace for to leave the loom uncovered like that, I would recommend that everyone with a 7, 8 & 9 do this mod. Its a half hour job.
__________________
A PASSION FOR LIFE. A PASSION FOR RACING. MARCO SIMONCELLI 1987-2011 - RIP #58

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
VIII MR FQ 320 - Serviced By
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
/ Mapped By
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
flying-haggis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 20:13   #29
Stevolution
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Yorkshire
Car: Vii FQ300
My Car
Posts: 309
Quote:
Originally Posted by flying-haggis View Post

Thanks for the heads up in the first place Stevolution

..

No problem
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Stevolution is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 16:20   #30
Jonny IX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Shropshire
Car: Evo IX MRFQ340 + Honda Civic Type R EP3
Posts: 1,190
Mines all being done in two weeks, the stealers quoted me a scary £ 850 but going to a specialist for a lot less LOL .....they old me they would have to replace the whole loom as mitsi dont sell the plug LMAO i then showed them the plug for sale and he said we have to replace the whole loom as water can damage the wiring LMAO good old mitsi !!
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Jonny IX is offline   Reply With Quote
Mitsubishi Lancer Register
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Acd lights MR FQ300MR Technical Questions 12 02-01-2011 10:46
ABS / ACD - AYC lights code 11,13,14,82 rob2006 Gearbox / Clutch / Transmission 6 21-06-2009 18:45
ACD - all 3 lights on Bleesh Gearbox / Clutch / Transmission 0 19-06-2003 19:54
All 3 ACD lights On?!? Darkness Technical Questions 5 29-04-2003 18:26
Help! Acd showing 3 lights on my 7! chopper7 Technical Questions 2 13-01-2003 15:35



All times are GMT. The time now is 12:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.