Miles to Km? - Mitsubishi Lancer Register Forum
 
 

Go Back   Mitsubishi Lancer Register Forum > Technical > Electrical / Security / ICE / Navigation

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-05-2015, 08:03   #1
beliblisk
Senior User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1,401
Miles to Km?

Hi.

I know you guys do it the other way around but i have USDM speedo and i want odometer to measure in Kilometers.

As my Evo is full custom built from the shell up,is it any way to set odo to exact number of kms that she did,not what donor gauge did.

How can i do the above?

Best regards,

Matija
beliblisk is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 19-05-2015, 08:21   #2
MMV
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
My Car
Posts: 397
You can modify your speedo to have the exact miles (equivalence of Klm) but i think you cannot change from Miles to Km.
I have my Spanish X with an EEUU speedo in miles.
The bodyshop who fixed my speedo to have the correct miles of my car told me the conversion to klm was not possible.
(Perhaps they didn't know how to do it but it would be strange because their business is modifying all kind of speedometers).
__________________
MMV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2015, 08:40   #3
beliblisk
Senior User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1,401
Hi.

I only need to modify odo not speedo (in speedo ill just change dials backing plates to show km/hs only as now i do have both scales).

Last edited by beliblisk; 19-05-2015 at 08:42..
beliblisk is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 19-05-2015, 09:20   #4
Dave-Cee
Climate Changer
 
Dave-Cee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Oxford
Car: MAD forged 2.2 IX FQ 340 PLG Leccy Bloo
Posts: 3,947
I might be able to help you.

First of all, do you have a speedo converter on your gearbox? see pic.

The cluster you have at the moment reads MPH on the dials and clocks up miles on the odometer?

I have software and hardware that can change the hex code in the EEPROM chip, and have found the code that changes it from miles to km's

Attached Images
 
Dave-Cee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2015, 11:41   #5
beliblisk
Senior User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1,401
Hi.

I dont know if i have any speedo converter on the box.It is OEM one i guess.

Yes cluster reads mph and kmh (kmh on the smaller inside scale) and clocks up miles on odo.I just need that odo to count kms

Can this be done by my self or i need electric expert?
beliblisk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2015, 11:58   #6
Dave-Cee
Climate Changer
 
Dave-Cee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Oxford
Car: MAD forged 2.2 IX FQ 340 PLG Leccy Bloo
Posts: 3,947
Quote:
Originally Posted by beliblisk View Post
Hi.

I dont know if i have any speedo converter on the box.It is OEM one i guess.

Yes cluster reads mph and kmh (kmh on the smaller inside scale) and clocks up miles on odo.I just need that odo to count kms

Can this be done by my self or i need electric expert?
It is important to know whether you have one on the gearbox.

Without this I can't tell what needs doing.

Changing the odometer to clock up kms instead of miles requires writing hex code to the EEPROM chip that is stored on the cluster circuit board.

The best way to do this is desolder the 8 pin chip and place it in a EEPROM chip reader. You will then be able to edit the chip to change your mileage, and, change some digits for it to read kms.

If you have anyone that knows how to do this I can supply you with the hex codes you will need.

Failing that, send me your cluster and I will do it for you. Just cover the postage, don't know where you are?

Need to know about the speed converter first though,it will be sat on top of the box and will look just like the pic.

Dave-Cee is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Dave-Cee For This Useful Post:
Ads9 (14-12-2015)
Old 19-05-2015, 12:03   #7
beliblisk
Senior User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1,401
Hi.

Ill check and let you know. Thanks a lot for your help
beliblisk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2015, 12:15   #8
Dave-Cee
Climate Changer
 
Dave-Cee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Oxford
Car: MAD forged 2.2 IX FQ 340 PLG Leccy Bloo
Posts: 3,947
Quote:
Originally Posted by beliblisk View Post
Hi.

Ill check and let you know. Thanks a lot for your help
You are welcome.

See this pic of my box. Circled in red is the speed sensor.

If it doesn't have a speedo converter it will look just like the pic. If it does, it will simply have that gadget ( first pic ) plugged on top of it.

Attached Images
 
Dave-Cee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2015, 16:45   #9
piuma85
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 5
Hi. Does any one knows from where i can purchase one of those speedo convertors for my EVO8 FQ300. I had one but got smashed while changing the clutch kit. Thanks
piuma85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-11-2015, 06:54   #10
Ritchma
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 10
Hello guys. Before I start new topic... I'm in AUS and we use Km but I want to convert it to mph so I can use 300kmh dials instead. What kind of converter do I need and where can I buy it? It's for evo 6. Thanks a lot
Ritchma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-11-2015, 11:40   #11
beliblisk
Senior User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1,401
Why would you like to convert it to mph and use 300 km/h scale? I just dont understand what is your intention here.
beliblisk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-11-2015, 19:57   #12
Ritchma
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 10
Easy. 180mph is around 290kmh. All I need is cluster what shows speed in MPH and change the dials. Something like this http://moman.pl/eu/gfx/big/1380197055.9219.jpg
Ritchma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-11-2015, 21:50   #13
beliblisk
Senior User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1,401
I see. Om my IX i did the same (but it was reading mph as it is USDM cluster)......i forgot OEM km/h scale is bigger.
beliblisk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-12-2015, 20:52   #14
crazytony
Senior User
 
crazytony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 106
can you change kms to miles in odometer

hi dave-cee just after abit of info as im new to this forum and the brand.im due to be collecting my import evo6 tme on 19/12/15 and have been told the dials have been changed to read in mph which is fine and its now going to be counting up in miles,can the kms be wound or set back to the equivilant in miles or not ? thanks for any advice,tony
crazytony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-12-2015, 23:34   #15
Dave-Cee
Climate Changer
 
Dave-Cee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Oxford
Car: MAD forged 2.2 IX FQ 340 PLG Leccy Bloo
Posts: 3,947
Not sure with the earlier cars but would think so yes.

Will look into it.

Dave-Cee is offline   Reply With Quote
Mitsubishi Lancer Register
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT. The time now is 05:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.