Motec M800 OEM ECU - Mitsubishi Lancer Register Forum

Go Back   Mitsubishi Lancer Register Forum > Technical > Engine / Turbo

Old 07-11-2006, 17:37   #1
JamieB

Car: EVO 6 RS II
Motec M800 OEM ECU

Can anyone explain the benefits of fitting the motec and remapping over the ralliart ecu currently in my e6.

I'm new to Evo ownership and have been recommended the upgrade.

Also what would the ralliart fetch 2nd hand? Would I ditch the boost controller with the motec?

Last edited by JamieB; 07-11-2006 at 17:45..
JamieB is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-11-2006, 19:39   #2
ON-UJAH

Car: EVO V GSR
You can continue to use your Boost controller with any ECU.

The main reason of swapping to Motec etc. is to lose the MAF sensor, and to swap to a MAP sensor (like a Cossie uses) - this alows the mapper to map to high boost levels.

Also they are faster with more resolution, and come with other features like traction control and ALS.

There's nothing wring with the RA ECU, if you don't want to run more than about 1.6bar on the standard turbo - however if you want to swap turbo, it won't be up to the job any more, as it will no longer be mapped to that particular airflow.

A RA ECU is worth 400 GBP minimum on the secon hand market.
ON-UJAH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2006, 15:21   #3
evo400

Car: Trabant race car !!! Cardboard contruction the original Carbon !!!!
There is a lot of confusion about what ecu is best and what ecu is more suited to a certain car or individual. Mapping the car or reflashing the standard ecu will vary from 250-25000+ so we kind of need to draw a line some where.

I am going to divide the topic into two categories

1- EcuTek which provides the technology to remap the existing standard car’s ECUs this is commonly known as ECUTEK reflash/remap. Ecutek have been in the market for many years and their customer support as a company is next to none in the industry.