Link G4 fitting Evo 6 - Mitsubishi Lancer Register Forum
 
 

Go Back   Mitsubishi Lancer Register Forum > Technical > ECU / Mapping

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-03-2018, 13:54   #1
McGoo60
Senior User
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 602
Link G4 fitting Evo 6

Hi can anyone advise what I need to get to fit this and run SD on a 6?

Ive ordered the ECU and understand I need to get an IAT but do I need an additional MAP sensor or use the onboard one?

Also will it use the factory knock sensor or do I need the link one?

Finally would it be better to get the can wideband lambda addon or not needed?

Thanks
McGoo60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-03-2018, 17:22   #2
GregM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: New Zealand
Car: Evo 5 Race Car
My Car
Posts: 277
I've just fitted one to my 5.

You'll need an IAT fitted between your intercooler and throttle body. You can use the onboard MAP, but for me I didn't want to run the vacuum line into the car and I already had a MAP sensor as I was running SD on the factory ecu. I haven't set up knock control yet, but the factory one can be used. I'm using a Zeitronix wideband wired into my ecu, but if I didn't already have one, I'd buy a CAN Wideband. Its up to you if you fit your own wideband, I prefer to have one as I like to know whats going on with the tune.

I've also hooked up my oil temp, oil pressure and added fuel pressure sensors to my ecu, so I can set some fail safes and monitor everything. I've ditched all my gauges and will be running PCLink off a Windows based tablet, so all the data is displayed on that.
__________________
GregM is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to GregM For This Useful Post:
Ads9 (29-01-2020)
Old 01-03-2018, 17:43   #3
McGoo60
Senior User
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 602
Thanks for that, did you get the xs loom to hook up the temps and pressures. I’m also interested in running a tablet instead of gauges, which cable did you use to tun that?
McGoo60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-03-2018, 17:50   #4
GregM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: New Zealand
Car: Evo 5 Race Car
My Car
Posts: 277
Yea, I got an XS Loom, but also used some existing pins on the ecu too. I haven't even bought the tablet yet, as the car will not be getting its tune until June at this stage, so no need to buy one and set it up yet. It also sounds like some improvements are being done to PCLink to make it easier to set up tablets. You should be able to use the standard tuning cable to connect to the tablet.
__________________
GregM is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to GregM For This Useful Post:
McGoo60 (01-03-2018)
Old 01-03-2018, 19:30   #5
foreskin fred
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 625
Quote:
Originally Posted by GregM View Post

You'll need an IAT fitted between your intercooler and throttle body.

I haven't set up knock control yet, but the factory one can be used..






The IAT sensor is installed IN the manifold.
I know everyone puis it before the manifold but it's wrong and as such it'll never run perfectly.

Temperature always drops as in passes the throttle blade, so does the pressure ........so how could it possibly be correct?
Many late model engines use a combined IAT / MAP....made by Bosch. For installation in manifolds of OEM SD.


No the knock sensor won't work either, not at all.
__________________
Just tell yourself over and over again "I've been conned".
Eventually it'll sink in.

Last edited by foreskin fred; 01-03-2018 at 19:33..
foreskin fred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2018, 20:02   #6
McGoo60
Senior User
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 602
Yes, I,m looking at getting an Evo 9 inlet manifold that has the map and temp sensors fitted, will be a neater install.

Regarding the knock sensor, just been reading the Link forum and it supports the factory sensor at 13khz and the link one at 6khz.
McGoo60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2018, 20:29   #7
GregM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: New Zealand
Car: Evo 5 Race Car
My Car
Posts: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by foreskin fred View Post
The IAT sensor is installed IN the manifold.
I know everyone puis it before the manifold but it's wrong and as such it'll never run perfectly.

Temperature always drops as in passes the throttle blade, so does the pressure ........so how could it possibly be correct?
Many late model engines use a combined IAT / MAP....made by Bosch. For installation in manifolds of OEM SD.


No the knock sensor won't work either, not at all.
Thats your opinion on the IAT, but I know first hand my car runs perfectly where it is and where its been recommended to be fitted by a number of tuners. The IAT is used in combination with the ECT, so its more a matter of the tune.

As stated, the factory knock sensor works fine.
__________________
GregM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2018, 09:23   #8
McGoo60
Senior User
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 602
Does the wideband can lambda fit in place of the factory one or does it have to be mounted separately?
McGoo60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2018, 17:30   #9
GregM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: New Zealand
Car: Evo 5 Race Car
My Car
Posts: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by McGoo60 View Post
Does the wideband can lambda fit in place of the factory one or does it have to be mounted separately?
My Zeitronix recommends the sensor be 16" away from the turbo and states the factory narrow band location is too hot for the wideband sensor.
__________________
GregM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2018, 18:17   #10
McGoo60
Senior User
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 602
Thanks, spoke to a Link tuner today and they said I can fit the link one in place of the factory one.
McGoo60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2018, 00:05   #11
Grant620
Gizzmo Distributor
 
Grant620's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Somerset
Car: 640hp GTX3576R EVO VI Race Car
My Car
Posts: 8,571
Where are you based matey? Give me a call and I can talk you through the options.
Grant620 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2018, 09:20   #12
McGoo60
Senior User
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 602
I’m up in Leicester mate, I’ve got all the bits I need ordered, hoping to get it all installed and running on the base map before I send it off for mapping. I saw on an old post of yours there’s a further option on the link mapping to have everything set up in more detail rather than a basic remap, what does that entail and what’s the prices? Pm if you prefer!
McGoo60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2018, 11:14   #13
Grant620
Gizzmo Distributor
 
Grant620's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Somerset
Car: 640hp GTX3576R EVO VI Race Car
My Car
Posts: 8,571
Yhpm
Grant620 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2020, 16:49   #14
LariPilot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 1
Hi...most powersport applications do not run knock detection, this is because a knock sensor has difficulty differentiating between the mechanical noise from 2 stroke engine and actual knock.
Depending on your ignition system type (direct spark being best) and the mechanical noise your engine makes, narrowing the window will allow you to increase the maximum engine speed you can detect knock at.
LariPilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Mitsubishi Lancer Register
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT. The time now is 21:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.