4 to 3 plug conversion harness - Mitsubishi Lancer Register Forum
 
 

Go Back   Mitsubishi Lancer Register Forum > Technical > ECU / Mapping

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 25-11-2009, 14:55   #1
Grant620
Gizzmo Distributor
 
Grant620's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Somerset
Car: 640hp GTX3576R EVO VI Race Car
My Car
Posts: 8,546
4 to 3 plug conversion harness

Hi there
Would there be much call for a 4 to 3 plug conversion harness?
IE a patch loom with a 3 plug male connector to plug into a late 8/9 ECU and a female 4 plug connector to plug into a 4/5/6/7 loom?
Grant620 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 25-11-2009, 15:03   #2
[email protected]
Registered User
 
antony@Indigo-gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Tredegar, S. Wales
Car: Cayman GT4, MK7 Golf R and Tiguan R
My Car
Posts: 30,467
Apexi do a cable to plug a 7 ecu into an 8 but not visa versa
antony@Indigo-gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2009, 15:06   #3
youngsyr
Registered User
 
youngsyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: The Home of the Great...
Car: Evo VIII FQ 330 Sold, now in a BMW M3 (V8)
My Car
Posts: 14,952
I'd imagine the Evo IV owners would be happy to have access to them, but I'm not sure how many of them there are around any more?

Are all the Tephra mod options currently available on the 5 and 6 ECUs - might make it more attractive if they can easily swap in an VIII ECU with the mods on?
youngsyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 25-11-2009, 15:07   #4
[email protected]
Registered User
 
antony@Indigo-gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Tredegar, S. Wales
Car: Cayman GT4, MK7 Golf R and Tiguan R
My Car
Posts: 30,467
Evo 4 is same plugs as later cars
antony@Indigo-gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2009, 15:11   #5
youngsyr
Registered User
 
youngsyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: The Home of the Great...
Car: Evo VIII FQ 330 Sold, now in a BMW M3 (V8)
My Car
Posts: 14,952
Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
Evo 4 is same plugs as later cars
But my point was that it cannot be ECUFlashed, AIUI, so swapping in a later ECU might be a better option.

I guess you could swap in another 4 plug ECU, but as above, I'm not sure whether you can get the full Tephra mods on ECUs earlier than the VIII, hence the need for the loom to swap to a 3 plug ECU.
youngsyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2009, 15:12   #6
Grant620
Gizzmo Distributor
 
Grant620's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Somerset
Car: 640hp GTX3576R EVO VI Race Car
My Car
Posts: 8,546
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngsyr View Post
I'd imagine the Evo IV owners would be happy to have access to them, but I'm not sure how many of them there are around any more?

Are all the Tephra mod options currently available on the 5 and 6 ECUs - might make it more attractive if they can easily swap in an VIII ECU with the mods on?
The S-D mod is not available on 5/6 ECU, so you need a 7/8 260 one.
The 3 plug ECUs seem less popular (due to wiring) so I thought making some loom patches would make the ECU market more open?
Might be prohibitively expensive... Around £150 per loom.
Grant620 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2009, 15:16   #7
evonut270
Senior User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Scotland
Car: evo 2 with an 8 ecu
My Car
Posts: 7,655
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grant620 View Post
The S-D mod is not available on 5/6 ECU, so you need a 7/8 260 one.
The 3 plug ECUs seem less popular (due to wiring) so I thought making some loom patches would make the ECU market more open?
Might be prohibitively expensive... Around £150 per loom.
thats the problem grant.thats what apexi charge for a harness.id build the looms if i had access to the plugs.
evonut270 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2009, 15:20   #8
Grant620
Gizzmo Distributor
 
Grant620's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Somerset
Car: 640hp GTX3576R EVO VI Race Car
My Car
Posts: 8,546
Quote:
Originally Posted by evonut270 View Post
thats the problem grant.thats what apexi charge for a harness.id build the looms if i had access to the plugs.
Apexi harness goes the other way though doesn't it?
Grant620 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2009, 15:24   #9
youngsyr
Registered User
 
youngsyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: The Home of the Great...
Car: Evo VIII FQ 330 Sold, now in a BMW M3 (V8)
My Car
Posts: 14,952
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grant620 View Post
The S-D mod is not available on 5/6 ECU, so you need a 7/8 260 one.
The 3 plug ECUs seem less popular (due to wiring) so I thought making some loom patches would make the ECU market more open?
Might be prohibitively expensive... Around £150 per loom.
It's a nice idea, but at that price I think people would just try to find a VII or VIII 260 ECU.

I imagine you'd also need to have different looms for several different combinations to cater for all the different ECUs and cars they can go in? E.g.:

VIII MR -> IV
IX -> VI
VIII -> V
...

It would be nice to get everyone to settle on one ECU for future development (e.g. IX ECU) and then just create the looms to get that ECU working on all the cars. That way the maximum development time can be spent on the ECU itself, but I guess even then there will be glitches when it's patched into the different models.
youngsyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2009, 15:28   #10
Grant620
Gizzmo Distributor
 
Grant620's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Somerset
Car: 640hp GTX3576R EVO VI Race Car
My Car
Posts: 8,546
I've got a 9 ECU here you see and want to fit to my 4, but it looks like it's a fair bit of work?
With 7 / 8 260 ECUs being around £175 it seems to make financial sense to make a patch loom for the 9 ECU!
Just thought I'd offer the option to other people as well (and hopefully bring the cost down)
Grant620 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2009, 17:04   #11
DesEvo 8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: midlands
My Car
Posts: 1,448
adaptor loom

Hi Grant,db gauge arrived today,I think adaptor loom would be a good seller i've purchased a 9 ecu as i plan to go the SD route and would need a loom to adapt my 4plug 260 to 3 plug 9ecu,cheers DES
__________________
Des gsr
DesEvo 8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2009, 17:09   #12
evonut270
Senior User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Scotland
Car: evo 2 with an 8 ecu
My Car
Posts: 7,655
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grant620 View Post
Apexi harness goes the other way though doesn't it?
yeah 3-4 plug on the 1 2 and 3s.problem being as soon as a loom becomes available the prices on the ecus goes up.if i can get plugs from an evo 8 3 plug harness i may convert to a 9 ecu from the 260 item i have currently.
evonut270 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2009, 19:10   #13
grayw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hampshire
Car: Evo
Posts: 19,543
Nice idea Grant, but maybe prohibited by price. I know Grants looked into getting the 3 plug connectors for the VIII & IX ECU but they were silly expensive due to the amount required for a purchase.


Quote:
Originally Posted by DesEvo 8 View Post
Hi Grant,db gauge arrived today,I think adaptor loom would be a good seller i've purchased a 9 ecu as i plan to go the SD route and would need a loom to adapt my 4plug 260 to 3 plug 9ecu,cheers DES
You can run the 96260009 or 90550001 SD patch on the 4 plug 260 ECU, just for info. The IX ECU and rom presents some issues when installed into a VIII.
grayw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2009, 21:43   #14
Grant620
Gizzmo Distributor
 
Grant620's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Somerset
Car: 640hp GTX3576R EVO VI Race Car
My Car
Posts: 8,546
So at the moment, a 7 or 8 260 ECU is the best way forward for S-D?
Grant620 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2009, 21:43   #15
Grant620
Gizzmo Distributor
 
Grant620's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Somerset
Car: 640hp GTX3576R EVO VI Race Car
My Car
Posts: 8,546
Quote:
Originally Posted by grayw View Post
Nice idea Grant, but maybe prohibited by price. I know Grants looked into getting the 3 plug connectors for the VIII & IX ECU but they were silly expensive due to the amount required for a purchase.




You can run the 96260009 or 90550001 SD patch on the 4 plug 260 ECU, just for info. The IX ECU and rom presents some issues when installed into a VIII.
What would be silly expensive for the plugs?
Grant620 is offline   Reply With Quote
Mitsubishi Lancer Register
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT. The time now is 21:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.