EVO X - Program new Key to ECU ? - Mitsubishi Lancer Register Forum
 
 

Go Back   Mitsubishi Lancer Register Forum > Technical > ECU / Mapping

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-08-2019, 11:38   #1
nplatenkamp
Senior User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Germany
My Car
Posts: 841
Question EVO X - Program new Key to ECU ?

Hi,
I bought 2 new keys (used) and an ecu from an FQ360 (acc. to seller).
Can I disable the immobilizer with ECUFlash ? Or if the ecu is locked how can I remove the lock ?

And is there any tool besides MUT 3 to program keys to ecu?

I am unsure if the dealer near me can do this and it will be expensive to get the car there.

Can PM if you want.
Thanks,
Rico
nplatenkamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-09-2019, 13:56   #2
nplatenkamp
Senior User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Germany
My Car
Posts: 841
Hi,
so got a bit further, it seems the ECU is from US and has a Tephra rom on it.
Via Etacs Decoder I switched off the immobilizer in engine ECU but still no crank.
Immo VIN is different to ECU VIN.
I was hoping if I turned immo off it would crank. Anyone any ideas ?

Thanks, Rico
nplatenkamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2019, 21:59   #3
Sephiro
Senior User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Paisley
Car: Evo X SST 330
Posts: 522
I've not done work in this area myself, however from what I've read if the immobiliser VIN is different from the ECU VIN then it will refuse to enable the fuel pump and the only way to update the VIN to match is with the MUT III.
Sephiro is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-09-2019, 09:22   #4
nplatenkamp
Senior User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Germany
My Car
Posts: 841
Thanks, the issue is only a dealer can do this it seems (if they know what they are doing).
I hoped if I tell the ecu that there is no immo it would start.

Other question : I read the rom and many entries/tables are greyed out, is that an issue ?

Thanks, Rico

Last edited by nplatenkamp; 10-09-2019 at 19:26.. Reason: tables
nplatenkamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 20:31   #5
Sephiro
Senior User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Paisley
Car: Evo X SST 330
Posts: 522
Agree on the dealership being hit and miss, which is why I bought my own dodgy chinese MUT III off ebay. Are there not any other Evo owners near you in Germany who might have a MUT III and could help?

My X has the locked ECUtek ROM so I don't really use EcuFlash, however it sounds like you are potentially missing some XML definitions files corresponding to the version of the TephraXMod ROM on your ECU if many entries/tables are greyed out.
Sephiro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2019, 14:18   #6
nplatenkamp
Senior User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Germany
My Car
Posts: 841
I called on locally and they say they won't do it, no clue.
Can I write a OEM map to the ecu ? As I do not know what exact map is on it ?

Where can I get a standard map ?
Thanks
nplatenkamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2019, 20:57   #7
Sephiro
Senior User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Paisley
Car: Evo X SST 330
Posts: 522
I believe these are the stock maps files, however writing a stock map isn't going to solve your immobiliser issue and could potentially create new problems if the car isn't stock:
http://norcalmotorsports.org/users/b...ch/ROMs/Evo10/
Sephiro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2019, 09:51   #8
nplatenkamp
Senior User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Germany
My Car
Posts: 841
Thanks, my car is standard so no issue there. Does your "cheap" MUT-3 works ?
Can you write a new VIN to the immo with this ?

Thanks, Rico
nplatenkamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2019, 12:11   #9
Sephiro
Senior User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Paisley
Car: Evo X SST 330
Posts: 522
Yes, the knock off MUT-3 seems to work on my both my Evo and I-Miev, although it does cause the AFS (Adaptive Front Lighting) system on the Evo to go a bit mad while it's connected but everything else seems to work and AFS goes back to normal once it's disconnected.

You should be able to update the VIN with it, however even the knock off MUT-3's aren't cheap in that they will set you back £300+.
Sephiro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2019, 20:51   #10
nplatenkamp
Senior User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Germany
My Car
Posts: 841
Thanks for your help. I will try if I can rent one but will be a long shot.

Still I wonder why it won't crank if the ecu is set to no immo present.
nplatenkamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-2019, 17:21   #11
nplatenkamp
Senior User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Germany
My Car
Posts: 841
Hi, can you check if you can write a VIN to the immo with your chinese MUT-3 ?

Thanks, Rico
nplatenkamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2019, 20:47   #12
Sephiro
Senior User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Paisley
Car: Evo X SST 330
Posts: 522
I should be able to do anything that you can do with the normal MUT-3, however I'm not going to test rewriting my VIN as "if it's not broke, don't fix it"

Assuming that you have only replaced the ECM and not any of the other ECU's then the process should be:
  1. Registration of ENG key code.
  2. VIN programmed.

If you have replaced more than one ECU (i.e. the ECM and ETACS ECUs) then you will need to put one of the originals back in as it will only let you program if one VIN is different from the other connected to the car. If it's just the ECM you've replaced then you only need to update the VIN on the ECM and not the immobiliser which is in the ETACS ECU.

See the following:
http://www.evoxservicemanual.co.uk/P...04300D-13A.pdf section 13A-920
http://www.evoxservicemanual.co.uk/P...005400-42B.pdf section 42B-12
http://www.evoxservicemanual.co.uk/P...0001400-00.pdf section 00-27
Sephiro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2019, 09:03   #13
nplatenkamp
Senior User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Germany
My Car
Posts: 841
Thanks again for the info. Well I replaced all so this will be challenge...
I set the ETACS vin to the ECM vin, but cannot set immo vin with my software.
So maybe I have to buy a set (ECM+ keys /barrel ).
nplatenkamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2019, 12:29   #14
Sephiro
Senior User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Paisley
Car: Evo X SST 330
Posts: 522
It's worth noting that even if you buy a new ECM you will still need MUT-3 to write the VIN. Can you clarify exactly which ECU's you have physically changed as the car has many and you need to keep the VIN number on them consistent (i.e. ECM, WCM, ETACS, AYC etc) or the systems won't talk to one another?

Changing ETACS to match the new ECM is a bad idea as it means that ETACS now won't be able to talk to the WCM ECU which reads the immobiliser transponder in your key.
Sephiro is offline   Reply With Quote
Mitsubishi Lancer Register
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT. The time now is 06:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.