Mitsubishi Lancer Register Forum

Mitsubishi Lancer Register Forum (https://www.lancerregister.com//index.php)
-   Electrical / Security / ICE / Navigation (https://www.lancerregister.com//forumdisplay.php?f=40)
-   -   Miles to Km? (https://www.lancerregister.com//showthread.php?t=505828)

beliblisk 19-05-2015 08:03

Miles to Km?
 
Hi.

I know you guys do it the other way around but i have USDM speedo and i want odometer to measure in Kilometers.

As my Evo is full custom built from the shell up,is it any way to set odo to exact number of kms that she did,not what donor gauge did.

How can i do the above?

Best regards,

Matija

MMV 19-05-2015 08:21

You can modify your speedo to have the exact miles (equivalence of Klm) but i think you cannot change from Miles to Km.
I have my Spanish X with an EEUU speedo in miles.
The bodyshop who fixed my speedo to have the correct miles of my car told me the conversion to klm was not possible. :o
(Perhaps they didn't know how to do it but it would be strange because their business is modifying all kind of speedometers).

beliblisk 19-05-2015 08:40

Hi.

I only need to modify odo not speedo (in speedo ill just change dials backing plates to show km/hs only as now i do have both scales).

Dave-Cee 19-05-2015 09:20

1 Attachment(s)
I might be able to help you.

First of all, do you have a speedo converter on your gearbox? see pic.

The cluster you have at the moment reads MPH on the dials and clocks up miles on the odometer?

I have software and hardware that can change the hex code in the EEPROM chip, and have found the code that changes it from miles to km's

:smthumbup

beliblisk 19-05-2015 11:41

Hi.

I dont know if i have any speedo converter on the box.It is OEM one i guess.

Yes cluster reads mph and kmh (kmh on the smaller inside scale) and clocks up miles on odo.I just need that odo to count kms:)

Can this be done by my self or i need electric expert?

Dave-Cee 19-05-2015 11:58

Quote:

Originally Posted by beliblisk (Post 5474919)
Hi.

I dont know if i have any speedo converter on the box.It is OEM one i guess.

Yes cluster reads mph and kmh (kmh on the smaller inside scale) and clocks up miles on odo.I just need that odo to count kms:)

Can this be done by my self or i need electric expert?

It is important to know whether you have one on the gearbox.

Without this I can't tell what needs doing.

Changing the odometer to clock up kms instead of miles requires writing hex code to the EEPROM chip that is stored on the cluster circuit board.

The best way to do this is desolder the 8 pin chip and place it in a EEPROM chip reader. You will then be able to edit the chip to change your mileage, and, change some digits for it to read kms.

If you have anyone that knows how to do this I can supply you with the hex codes you will need.

Failing that, send me your cluster and I will do it for you. Just cover the postage, don't know where you are?

Need to know about the speed converter first though,it will be sat on top of the box and will look just like the pic.

:smthumbup

beliblisk 19-05-2015 12:03

Hi.

Ill check and let you know. Thanks a lot for your help:)

Dave-Cee 19-05-2015 12:15

1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by beliblisk (Post 5474930)
Hi.

Ill check and let you know. Thanks a lot for your help:)

You are welcome.

See this pic of my box. Circled in red is the speed sensor.

If it doesn't have a speedo converter it will look just like the pic. If it does, it will simply have that gadget ( first pic ) plugged on top of it.

:smthumbup

piuma85 16-11-2015 16:45

Hi. Does any one knows from where i can purchase one of those speedo convertors for my EVO8 FQ300. I had one but got smashed while changing the clutch kit. Thanks

Ritchma 20-11-2015 06:54

Hello guys. Before I start new topic... I'm in AUS and we use Km but I want to convert it to mph so I can use 300kmh dials instead. What kind of converter do I need and where can I buy it? It's for evo 6. Thanks a lot

beliblisk 20-11-2015 11:40

Why would you like to convert it to mph and use 300 km/h scale? I just dont understand what is your intention here.

Ritchma 20-11-2015 19:57

Easy. 180mph is around 290kmh. All I need is cluster what shows speed in MPH and change the dials. Something like this http://moman.pl/eu/gfx/big/1380197055.9219.jpg

beliblisk 20-11-2015 21:50

I see. Om my IX i did the same (but it was reading mph as it is USDM cluster)......i forgot OEM km/h scale is bigger.

crazytony 14-12-2015 20:52

can you change kms to miles in odometer
 
hi dave-cee just after abit of info as im new to this forum and the brand.im due to be collecting my import evo6 tme on 19/12/15 and have been told the dials have been changed to read in mph which is fine and its now going to be counting up in miles,can the kms be wound or set back to the equivilant in miles or not ?:smthumbup thanks for any advice,tony

Dave-Cee 14-12-2015 23:34

Not sure with the earlier cars but would think so yes.

Will look into it.

:smthumbup


All times are GMT. The time now is 00:28.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.