Data logging/fault finding portable devices [Archive] - Mitsubishi Lancer Register Forum

Data logging/fault finding portable devices

Addo
16-09-2009, 10:25
Recently I've been thinking about buying Evo scan for my laptop or getting a dash PC. I'm not 100% that the dash PC software or hardware is developed enough yet so I've been looking at hand held devices;

Evo scan GPS

http://forums.evolutionm.net/ecuflash/381128-evoscan-v2-6-new-evoscan-gps-logger-reflashing-touchscreen-review.html

RRM DASHDAQ

http://forums.evolutionm.net/09-ralliart-engine-turbo-drivetrain/436701-rrm-dashdaq.html

Has anybody tried these out??

grayw
16-09-2009, 11:31
Standalone logging with the Tactrix Openport2 is in Beta test. This will however only work on OEM ECU's.

Addo
16-09-2009, 11:36
I was thinking more for track days so you could monitor things via that Evoscan gps tool. i reckon it looks cool will it log as much as normal evo scan?

I used to use vagtech on my old ibiza but i haven't used any Evo software yet, is it any good???

cheers

grayw
16-09-2009, 11:42
Don't know not had chance to try it yet:)

wip
16-09-2009, 11:45
I was thinking more for track days so you could monitor things via that Evoscan gps tool. i reckon it looks cool will it log as much as normal evo scan?

I used to use vagtech on my old ibiza but i haven't used any Evo software yet, is it any good???

cheers

IIRC, leecavturbo now uses this setup, may be worth pm'ing him.

EVO-james
16-09-2009, 12:04
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/MITSUBISHI-EVO-7-8-9-4-5-6-EVOSCAN-AND-GPS-NAVIGATOR_W0QQitemZ150373450716QQcmdZViewItemQQptZUK_CE_GPS_Accessories_Software_ET?hash=item2302f4c 3dc&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14


hi just saw this on flea bay not sure if the price is right

James

wip
16-09-2009, 12:13
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/MITSUBISHI-EVO-7-8-9-4-5-6-EVOSCAN-AND-GPS-NAVIGATOR_W0QQitemZ150373450716QQcmdZViewItemQQptZUK_CE_GPS_Accessories_Software_ET?hash=item2302f4c 3dc&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14


hi just saw this on flea bay not sure if the price is right

James

Hmmm, personally, I'd buy direct.

With the exchange rates, it looks more favourable too.

http://www.limitless.co.nz/

Addo
16-09-2009, 12:40
I currently have ECUTEK will i loose any of the mapping info Matt has inputed or will this work at all??

youngsyp
16-09-2009, 12:51
Hmmm, personally, I'd buy direct.

With the exchange rates, it looks more favourable too.

http://www.limitless.co.nz/Don't forget to add VAT and import duty to the final price too.

Paul

evonut270
16-09-2009, 13:00
ask leecavturbo what its like as he has one.:smthumbup

Addo
16-09-2009, 15:23
Pm lee and he's just replied.

Sounds a very interesting tool to have especially when touring in to Nurburgring for monitoring and fault finding.

grayw
16-09-2009, 16:20
I currently have ECUTEK will i loose any of the mapping info Matt has inputed or will this work at all??

No all it does is read sensor input to the ECU.

Addo
16-09-2009, 18:42
I'm a bit green when it comes Evo Ecu's

grayw
16-09-2009, 18:45
Most of the OBD II displays work on the VII> but it's down to how flash you want it.

Addo
17-09-2009, 11:47
just seen another fault finding display but more track oriented.

https://www.lancerregister.com/showthread.php?p=2930752#post2930752

Ben 6
18-09-2009, 13:01
I had the psi3 ecutek data monitor (Similar to stuff you're looking at). I thought it was gonna be good for trackdays etc..... Looks very trick in your din slot, but it needed too many extra sensors if you wanted to read oil temp, oil pressure, "proper" AFR's etc... and as only DEFI sensors worked with it (average 50 a pop) it was getting expensive, so I sold it and went back to good old guages.
If you pm John Banks, I believe he knows which PDA devices can be used to display most of the stuff a laptop can when using ecuflash.

burgers22
18-09-2009, 17:10
Standalone logging with the Tactrix Openport2 is in Beta test. This will however only work on OEM ECU's.

Ahemm. Er, beta group? Does that need a VII owner with experiance in testing beta software, car apps, and has been d!cking around with ECUflash for 3 years?

grayw
18-09-2009, 19:27
It's posted on the forums for everyone to see, it not hidden:)

burgers22
18-09-2009, 22:37
Ah! Installed and awaiting a test run. Ta very much!

grayw
19-09-2009, 06:59
I have a base logging file if you require it.

burgers22
19-09-2009, 08:18
Thanks Gray, that will be very handy.

johnbanks
20-09-2009, 09:51
I have not tried but would suggest trying the Evoscan device.

I have an old O2 XDA (HTC Wallaby) Pocket PC/phone which I upgraded to 2003 SE, and then used a TomTom serial port/charging cradle and modified a VAGCOM KKL-RS232 cable to work with it, then wrote Visual Basic 2005 software to log and work with some of my ECU customisations. I didn't do fault code.

I think others had difficulty finding modern compatible devices, Evoscan device is the natural way to go I think. I would not have bothered doing mine if Evoscan had this available at the time.

Addo
20-09-2009, 15:05
Just placed my order with the Evo scan GPS i should have it in a few days. just found out the software doesn't like my mac book pro :blush: I'll have to install on my viao but i'll post up some feed back from a complete evo scan novice's point of view soon. cheers for the advice guys.

johnbanks
20-09-2009, 16:06
Can't you make your Mac run PC software?

Addo
20-09-2009, 20:20
Can't you make your Mac run PC software?

I can make it run a programme called Bootcamp where i can start up my Mac in Windows but i need to free up some more space as i got a huge pile of HD video footage that need to be edited. But essentially you right.

Addo
21-09-2009, 10:10
found a mobile display to

http://forums.evolutionm.net/ecuflash/447722-bluemut-logging-via-cellular.html

Addo
24-09-2009, 15:51
Just received it fairplay 270 three day international express mail from New Zealand.

Only trouble is i didn't order the ecu cable :blush::wallbang::goingmad:

http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b253/addot8/EvoscanGPS004.jpg

http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b253/addot8/EvoscanGPS006.jpg

http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b253/addot8/EvoscanGPS008.jpg

http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b253/addot8/EvoscanGPS012.jpg

http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b253/addot8/EvoscanGPS026.jpg

http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b253/addot8/EvoscanGPS019.jpg

http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b253/addot8/EvoscanGPS016.jpg

Addo
28-09-2009, 07:36
I received a cable from Grant260 a 1.3 type but i cant get the device to detect it. But when Matt tried using the 2.0 type cable it asked for a driver and detected it. I'm using version 2.6 of evoscan that was pre-installed when i received it.

Can anybody think what is the problem??

cheers

grayw
28-09-2009, 18:38
Have you logged a support call with Hamish? Think it must support the 1.3u cable, as Leecavturbo is using one.

leecavturbo
28-09-2009, 18:53
issue resolved earlier :smthumbup

Addo
28-09-2009, 19:02
issue resolved earlier :smthumbup

Do i come clean and look a right TW**??:wallbang:

All sorted thanks :smthumbup

Addo
28-09-2009, 19:03
Have you logged a support call with Hamish? Think it must support the 1.3u cable, as Leecavturbo is using one.

You need to have constant power while logging but not with GPS mode. Working like a dream now cheers Guys ;)