5 ecu in a 4....whats needed? [Archive] - Mitsubishi Lancer Register Forum

5 ecu in a 4....whats needed?

evowardy
04-05-2009, 11:21
pick your brains for advise...

running a 5 ecu in my 4 what else do i need to upgrade for a perfect match other than fitting 560cc injectors?

lee_r_one
04-05-2009, 13:29
think cams changed from 4 to 5 that should be it mate.

super rover
04-05-2009, 13:33
walbro pump ,the rest isnt really an issue unless you swop the whole lot and get a later engine

millsyevo4
04-05-2009, 13:35
put a 6 ecu in my four, just need the walbro, the injectors and the ecu, thats it mate

typhoid
04-05-2009, 13:40
As Millsy Said ..

I put a 5 in my 4 .. wallbro, 560 injectors and thats it .. ran a log and it was sweet :smthumbup:

That and a reflash with a new generic map .. and then map away :smthumbup:

grayw
04-05-2009, 19:18
There are a few differences between the IV and V, the cams as already mentioned but the turbo's are also different.
The idea of changing the ECU is really to allow remapping, not for any instant performance gain.

evowardy
04-05-2009, 20:52
ok cheers all, anyone heard of how hks kansai map ecu's as the one i got out of my mates 5 has there sticker/seal on it?

grayw
04-05-2009, 21:01
ok cheers all, anyone heard of how hks kansai map ecu's as the one i got out of my mates 5 has there sticker/seal on it?

Any thing mapped for Jap fuel is likely to have a lot of timing, so not ideal for UK spec cars.

Evo'R'us
04-05-2009, 21:06
what ron fuel do the japs have as standard then?

evowardy
04-05-2009, 21:07
what problems would this cause grayw? and solution is what remap?

grayw
04-05-2009, 21:14
what ron fuel do the japs have as standard then?

No idea, but they all seem to have have a load of timing in the ignition map.

what problems would this cause grayw? and solution is what remap?

Any gerenic map designed for non UK spec fuel is probably not ideal, you are best getting custom map to your mods and car.

evowardy
04-05-2009, 21:18
Right Ive Now Had Fitted The Evo 5 Ecu, 560 Injectors, Walbro 255lph Fuel Pump And A Adjustable Fuel Pressure Regulator And When I Get To Eurospec On Friday Its Having A Blitz Boost Controller Fitted Before A Rolling Road Set Up.

Quick Check Am I Missing Anything That May Be Required To Get This Lot Working Together Nicely On The Day??

evowardy
09-05-2009, 12:10
Bttt

millsyevo4
09-05-2009, 12:48
that should run sweet as a nut then mate, let us know how you get on, youll love it after the re-map!

grayw
09-05-2009, 14:34
Right Ive Now Had Fitted The Evo 5 Ecu, 560 Injectors, Walbro 255lph Fuel Pump And A Adjustable Fuel Pressure Regulator And When I Get To Eurospec On Friday Its Having A Blitz Boost Controller Fitted Before A Rolling Road Set Up.

Quick Check Am I Missing Anything That May Be Required To Get This Lot Working Together Nicely On The Day??

What are you using for an air filter?

evowardy
09-05-2009, 20:38
ive got an apexi filter on the car.

grayw
09-05-2009, 20:42
Should be fine, the OEM airbox on the early cars is a little restrictive.

evowardy
09-05-2009, 20:44
will see what happens then!!!

evowardy
15-05-2009, 18:10
big thanks to ben @ eurospec in guildford, have been there this morning to get my car checked and set up so i know its all running and working ok with all the new parts that have been fitted of late, car made 314.4bhp @ 1.5bar with 320 lb torque without a boost controller or remap.....sweet news!

evowardy
28-05-2009, 22:06
as with us all the quest for more bhp has got me again!! so have got hold of a e6 ecu mapped by jgm with 350+bhp and ive just got hold of a low mileage e6 turbo and actuator so gonna get these all up and running very soon.....will i need a remap if the set up on my car is the same as the e6 the ecu came off?

probrably best to run the rollovers again for safety hey......

grayw
28-05-2009, 22:09
Yes as every car is slightly different, you should never just fit it an hope for the best. There can ba massive differences in fueling and knock levels between what you would think are identical cars.

will i need a remap if the set up on my car is the same as the e6 the ecu came off?

evowardy
29-05-2009, 08:57
visa card is going to take another beating then...ha ha!!