remote engine start???? [Archive] - Mitsubishi Lancer Register Forum

remote engine start????

fq-300-danny
02-02-2009, 08:19
thinking of geting 1 how easy are they to fit? weres best place to get 1? :smthumbup

Raj_UK
02-02-2009, 09:48
don't these void the theft part of your car insurance ?

bloke101
02-02-2009, 09:49
thinking of geting 1 how easy are they to fit? weres best place to get 1? :smthumbup

easy as.

not sure about inurance though.

iansevoviii
02-02-2009, 10:15
don't these void the theft part of your car insurance ?


Not entirely true.

An aftermarket will void your warranty, But either the highend system by Toad or the clifford avantguard retain there thatcham + status

speak to SWADice of here - well recommended and good deals on Toad :smthumbup

youngsyp
02-02-2009, 10:38
An aftermarket will void your warranty, But either the highend system by Toad or the clifford avantguard retain there thatcham + status And that's not entirely true...

Having remote start and/or a turbo timer fitted will not in itself void the insurance. However, if the car is started and/ or running with the owner not 'in charge' of the vehicle and it's stolen, your insurance will be void.

This could be said of starting it normally with your keys, letting it warm up on the drive whilst you're in the house and it being stolen though.

As for fitting, generally they come as part of an alarm package as mentioned above so, will be quite complex. I'm sure you can pick up standalone kits from the states though...
These should be relatively easy to fit with a moderate amount of auto electrical knowledge.


Paul

boxman2000
02-02-2009, 11:17
My turbo timer used to cut the engine when you tried to drive it (Scoob), I would imagine (although I don't know) others should have similar feature.

youngsyp
02-02-2009, 11:52
My turbo timer used to cut the engine when you tried to drive it (Scoob), I would imagine (although I don't know) others should have similar feature.The Clifford alarm on my Pulsar has a timer function built in that I can use for the turbo timer. If the engine is running, the ignition isn't set to position 2 and the brake peddle is pressed it will cut the engine. The same is true when the remote start is used.

With standalone turbo timers, I think the timer is normally connected to the switch on the handbrake. When the handbrake is off, the car will not run on the turbo timer. The connection can be earthed anywhere though eliminating the need for the handbrake connectivity.

Paul

iansevoviii
02-02-2009, 12:56
And that's not entirely true...

Having remote start and/or a turbo timer fitted will not in itself void the insurance. However, if the car is started and/ or running with the owner not 'in charge' of the vehicle and it's stolen, your insurance will be void.

Paul


And thats a technicality - the point of a turbotimer is to avoid sitting in the car otherwise you might as well not bother. Some systems retain there catagorys even with the remote start. I'm trying to point out installing it yourself will not - it needs to be approved.

The point still remains - Make sure its installed by a qualified installer - make sure it conforms to your insurance policy.


:smthumbup

fq-300-danny
02-02-2009, 18:28
guys will this 1 be ok????... all i want to install is the remote engine start nothing else?....

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/2-WAY-Keyless-Entry-Remote-Engine-Start-Turbo-Timmer_W0QQitemZ280308744807QQcmdZViewItemQQptZUK_CarsParts_Vehicles_CarParts_SM?hash=item2803087448 07&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=72%3A1689%7C66%3A2%7C65%3A12%7C39%3A1%7C240%3A1318

bloke101
02-02-2009, 19:44
turbo timmer lol

fq-300-danny
02-02-2009, 21:04
turbo timmer lol

is it no good?

fq-300-danny
02-02-2009, 21:08
is there anywere that sells just the remote engine start? :smthumbup

youngsyp
02-02-2009, 21:44
guys will this 1 be ok????... all i want to install is the remote engine start nothing else?....

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/2-WAY-Keyless-Entry-Remote-Engine-Start-Turbo-Timmer_W0QQitemZ280308744807QQcmdZViewItemQQptZUK_CarsParts_Vehicles_CarParts_SM?hash=item2803087448 07&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=72%3A1689%7C66%3A2%7C65%3A12%7C39%3A1%7C240%3A1318That's pretty good value if it works.

Of course, it will mean having two key fobs on your car key too...

Paul

fq-300-danny
02-02-2009, 22:00
what do i do about the clutch as it needs to be pressed down??? :smthumbup

youngsyp
02-02-2009, 22:23
what do i do about the clutch as it needs to be pressed down??? :smthumbupWhy does the clutch need to be pressed down?

You just need to make sure it's out of gear before you leave the car... :smthumbup

With the Clifford versions, you have to 'prime' the car before you use the remote start. This involves pressing a button on the remote, whilst the engine is running before you exit the car. That way, the alarm/ remote start module, knows the cars not in gear for when the remote start will be used.

Paul

fq-300-danny
02-02-2009, 22:32
the clutch is a imob.... it wont start without it being pressed down... does cobra make a remote engine start anyone? as thats the alarm thats on it now so might be easyer geting the same make ect?

iansevoviii
03-02-2009, 08:14
the clutch is a imob.... it wont start without it being pressed down... does cobra make a remote engine start anyone? as thats the alarm thats on it now so might be easyer geting the same make ect?


Not that i'm aware of they dont, i looked at cobra as a route to upgrading and found information a tad short and reviews not great so moved on.

AndyF_RSX
03-02-2009, 09:17
Seeing as how no-one seems to have asked...

Why do you want one??

Andy