Go Back   Mitsubishi Lancer Register Forum > Technical > Electrical / Security / ICE / Navigation

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-09-2017, 19:52   #1
Alexb86
Junior User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 6
Exo X Trip Computer LCD

Does anyone know if the early Evo X LCD displays for the on boards computer which are red/orange on a black background can be swapped for the later, colour LCD's?

Thanks in advance

Example of the display

http://www.motorworldhype.com/wp-con..._part_2_11.jpg
Alexb86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-2017, 20:18   #2
Mick-87
Senior User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Lincolnshire
Posts: 313
You need the whole cluster as the warning lights are different but it is a straight swap. Only thing that will be wrong is the mileage but that can be corrected.
Mick-87 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Mick-87 For This Useful Post:
Realbadman (13-09-2017)
Old 13-09-2017, 20:25   #3
Sephiro
Senior User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Paisley
Car: Evo X SST 330
Posts: 254
Be careful where you source the new cluster from as if you get one from europe the odo will show in kilometers and I don't believe you can't change it to miles.
Sephiro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-2017, 21:17   #4
Alexb86
Junior User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 6
Thanks guys, not suppose you know if they are expensive, is the taco and speedo the same design?
Alexb86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-2017, 04:00   #5
Mick-87
Senior User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Lincolnshire
Posts: 313
£200-£300 plus shipping second hand. Have a look at Ebay USA always a couple for sale, the ones without the silver around the screen are the coloured ones.
Mick-87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-2017, 07:03   #6
stu8
Senior User
 
stu8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Southport
Car: Evo V - geekmapped.com
Posts: 20,291
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mick-87 View Post
£200-£300 plus shipping second hand. Have a look at Ebay USA always a couple for sale, the ones without the silver around the screen are the coloured ones.
Have you dont this change? Are USA ones in miles (I assume they are)

Stu
stu8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-2017, 07:16   #7
plip1953
Phil
 
plip1953's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: West Yorkshire
Car: Evo X 300 SST
My Car
Posts: 9,465
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mick-87 View Post
You need the whole cluster as the warning lights are different but it is a straight swap. Only thing that will be wrong is the mileage but that can be corrected.
I have one of these dashes (came with the car when i bought it), but I haven't fitted it because I was told it had 60k on the odometer which is a lot more than the car's true mileage. Where would i have to take it to get it changed on the colour dash? Or can it be done by anyone with a MUT 3?
__________________
Phil
plip1953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-2017, 07:20   #8
stu8
Senior User
 
stu8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Southport
Car: Evo V - geekmapped.com
Posts: 20,291
Quote:
Originally Posted by plip1953 View Post
I have one of these dashes (came with the car when i bought it), but I haven't fitted it because I was told it had 60k on the odometer which is a lot more than the car's true mileage. Where would i have to take it to get it changed on the colour dash? Or can it be done by anyone with a MUT 3?
if you decide to sell, let me know, as my car has just turned 60k miles

Stu
stu8 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stu8 For This Useful Post:
plip1953 (14-09-2017)
Old 14-09-2017, 11:25   #9
Mick-87
Senior User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Lincolnshire
Posts: 313
Quote:
Originally Posted by stu8 View Post
Have you dont this change? Are USA ones in miles (I assume they are)

Stu
I don't own a X, but have done loads of research on them and will be looking for one in the new year..

Yes USA are in mph, Canada is km/h.


Quote:
Originally Posted by plip1953 View Post
I have one of these dashes (came with the car when i bought it), but I haven't fitted it because I was told it had 60k on the odometer which is a lot more than the car's true mileage. Where would i have to take it to get it changed on the colour dash? Or can it be done by anyone with a MUT 3?
My understanding from the US sites is Mitsubishi can do it but refuse too (in the US anyway) know idea what software they use.

Give mileage correction a search on Google you should find someone local that can do it.
Mick-87 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Mick-87 For This Useful Post:
stu8 (14-09-2017)
Old 14-09-2017, 12:58   #10
Furious X
Senior User
 
Furious X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
My Car
Posts: 366
I have one for my X. Not fitted it yet as there is no one here (Isle of Man) that adjusts the mileage afaik.

If your buying from the states remember the import duty
__________________
Black X 360 by HKS
Furious X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2017, 16:29   #11
m@gic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
My Car
Posts: 140
What about temperature, can you change display from Fahrenheit to Celsius??
m@gic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-09-2017, 08:17   #12
plip1953
Phil
 
plip1953's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: West Yorkshire
Car: Evo X 300 SST
My Car
Posts: 9,465
Quote:
Originally Posted by m@gic View Post
What about temperature, can you change display from Fahrenheit to Celsius??
It's no problem to change on the regular one so I'm sure it is also the same on the coloured one too.
__________________
Phil
plip1953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-09-2017, 14:41   #13
GUM EVO
Senior User
 
GUM EVO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: BERKSHIRE
Car: 2008 EVO X & 2008 EVO IX
My Car
Posts: 12,226
If you get one in km's you can install this which converts to mph.

http://www.lockwoodinternational.co....-no-c1030.html
__________________

2011 CLASS A MLRSS WINNER
GUM EVO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-09-2017, 14:49   #14
Sider
Senior User
 
Sider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Leeds
Posts: 19,878
Quote:
Originally Posted by GUM EVO View Post
If you get one in km's you can install this which converts to mph.

http://www.lockwoodinternational.co....-no-c1030.html

They're only down in the middle of Leeds Phil, if you need more info
__________________
.
Sider is offline   Reply With Quote
Mitsubishi Lancer Register
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT. The time now is 12:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.